Day 343 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for Spooning

“I will not play tug o’ war. I’d rather play hug o’ war. Where everyone hugs instead of tugs, Where everyone giggles and rolls on the rug, Where everyone kisses, and everyone grins, and everyone cuddles, and everyone wins.”
~~ Shel Silverstein

A dark night. Not only because the lights are out, but because of hurt or depression or writer’s block or work or a thousand thoughts whirling in my head and I can’t sleep….

And then, just when I don’t know what to do, just when even both dogs have decided they don’t want to cuddle, my husband snuggles close and puts his arm around me and spoons with me.

And I know that’s a man. That I am with a man. I’ve been with him for fifteen years. I am living who I am. I’m living my truth, in a world where so many men can’t. I live in a world where I was able to marry him. He’s my husband.

And later, if I spoon up to him, and put my arm around him, my fingers touch the soft hair on his chest and I know he’s a man. That I am with a man. I’ve been with him for fifteen years. I am living who I am. I’m living my truth, in a world where so many men can’t. I live in a world where I was able to marry him. He’s my husband.

That’s a whole lot to be grateful for.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: There is nothing wrong with anyone spooning with whoever they want to spoon with. It is just powerfully fulfilling to be doing it with who your heart and soul and being means for you to spoon with.


photograph by Dan Skinner, used with permission

One thought on “Day 343 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for Spooning

Leave a Reply

