Day 341 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for Unexpected Help (Support), Part Two


“The bottom line is, get busy with the business of life. Don’t sit around focusing on being anxious – nothing good will come of that.”
~~ Tom Corboy, MFT

.
So this week at work my unexpected helper (and support) has stepped in again. She asked me how I’m doing and I could see that she cared. She genuinely cared.

We talked about anxiety and depression and anxiety vs. depression. We talked about the importance of getting help to find out just what it is that I’m going through and to see if it is mental, emotional or physical. Was all this just in my mind? Could it be fatigue? A lack of vitamin D could be responsible for that—and my last blood tests showed that I am very low in vitamin D. We talked about how a professional could help determine all of this, to see if I had a need for antidepressants, and how they are often over prescribed—like antibiotics. How a really good doctor will look for the root of a problem instead of just medicating it—slapping a Band-Aid on it calling it cured.

She printed out two very helpful articles. One was about different ways to reduce anxiety….

1) Take a deep breath
2) Accept the fact that you’re anxious (it was very Buddhist)
3) Realize the brain may be playing tricks on you
4) Question thoughts
5) Calming visualizations
6) Observe one’s self without judgment
7) Positive self talk (hey, I’ve got nearly a year’s practice of doing that!)
8) Focusing on the Now (and that’s a lot of what I’ve been talking about here)
9) Focusing on meaningful activities

…and the second articles was about natural depression techniques…

1) Get in a routine – this will be tough as there are days I don’t want to get off the couch to get a Diet Coke out of the refrigerator
2) Set goals – I’ll try, not been so good at that so far. Although I have managed to write this blog every single day for 341 days!
3) Exercise – I could walk the dogs…they’ll certainly love it
4) Eat healthy – gosh, okay, I went to the grocery store a couple nights ago and bought some very healthy foods
5) Get enough sleep – Hmmmmm…. I’ve worried I’m sleeping too much
6) Take on responsibilities: the articles states that, “When you’re depressed, you may want to pull back from life and give up your responsibilities at home and at work. Don’t. Staying involved and having daily responsibilities can help you maintain a lifestyle that can help counter depression. They ground you and give you a sense of accomplishment.
If you’re not up to full-time school or work, that’s fine. Think about part-time. If that seems like too much, consider volunteer work.”
7) Challenge negative thoughts
8) Check with your doctor before using supplements
9) Do something new – if I can motivate myself this would be a very good one for me
10) Try to have fun – I’ve been trying, finally…. Went out with one of my best friends, Linnea, Friday night and had cocktails and saw a surpringly good movie—Victor Frankenstein.

What if nothing seems fun? “That’s just a symptom of depression,” Cook says. “You have to keep trying anyway.”

I started to have an anxiety attack today and she sat with me and helped me through it. It was awesome!

I was dreading work this week.

But I know better!

I was living in a fantasy world, projecting my fears on a day or days that hadn’t arrive yet!

I knew better!

Because Anything Can Happen!

And “anything” did.

Thank you co-worker. You made a long couple of days more than bearable.

Today I am grateful to my co-worker for truly and wonderfully helping me!

I’ve turned another corner! A big one!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

2 thoughts on “Day 341 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for Unexpected Help (Support), Part Two

  1. very good aeticle, it will not only help you, but many others. there are so many who have this challenge and hide it so effectively from everyone and sometimes even from themselves be well.blessings to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

