Day 327 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Thankful for Classic Comedy

Untitled

“That’s it. Vitameatavegamin contains vitamins, meat, megetables and vinerals. So why don’t you join the thousands of happy peppy people and get a great big bottle of Vitaveatyvemeanyminimoe.”
~~ Lucille Ball

Not that there is anything wrong with some good ol’ crude comedy, but I have often found that some of the funniest comedy is old kind.

Lately I’ve been watching some old shows like ALF and Cheers and others. But the one that really got me going was I Love Lucy. As old as that show is (oh my goodness, it’s older than me! by quite a bit!), to my surprise I laughed and laughed and laughed.

I was watching some of the really classic episodes and thought I would have an apoplexy laughing over the episode “Lucy Does a TV Commercial.” For those who haven’t yet guessed, that’s the episode with Vitameatavegamin, which contains 23% alcohol. She has to rehearse before going on air and when she takes the first taste, she nearly retches and has to try several times before she can get it down without grimacing and gagging. She has to keep doing take after take to get it right and she gets so drunk she gets stumbling drunk she can’t say her script. Total hilarity! I was laughing so hard I was wiping tears from my eyes!

And I watched the episode where Lucy in running around in the vat of grapes while she was in Italy.

And the one with Superman. Watching Lucy walk along that third story ledge dressed in a terrible Superman costume so she could “fly” in the window of little Rickie’s birthday part was hilarious (shooing off pigeons while three others were standing on her). And then it started pouring, while she was trapped on the ledge!

And it the fourth episode, and we are talking 1952, there is a gay joke! Luch thinks Ricky is trying to killer her. She finds a list of names and thinks it’s people he’s got lined up to replace her. Helen, Anne. Mary, Cynthia, Alice and Theodore! “Theodore?” she exclaims with wide eyes. Talk about humor before its time! (by the way, the names belonged to dogs in a dog act)

How incredible that after all these years the show was still funny. Even where it’s dated, the show featured such endearing comedy, it’s still funny. And Lucille Ball was an amazing comedian. Her timing and delivery were without peer.

What’s even better, I started watching these in this tough period I’ve been going through. What a joy to laugh and laugh and laugh!

Yes, sometimes the best comedy is the old kind—clean and pure and without profanity or sexual innuendo. Refreshing.

Today I am grateful for laughter and joy and a good dose of Lucy Ricardo!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: What is your favorite episode of I Love Lucy?

3 thoughts on “Day 327 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Thankful for Classic Comedy

Leave a Reply

