Day 313 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful That I Have the Ability to Be Grateful

“We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.”
~~ Anais Nin

“I’ve had a lot of worries in my life, most of which never happened”
~~ Mark Twain

Today was a really, really rough day. I haven’t been physically well for a few weeks now; I’ve been especially tired, feeling drained and run down, and as some people have guessed, fighting depression.

I was reminded today by an annoying source that I have a lot to be grateful for. I have a husband I love and who loves me, a home, transportation, and two wonderful dogs.

But as anyone who has been hit by depression knows, those things don’t just flick us out of these oppressive feelings. We can know we have good in our lives, but that isn’t magick that dispels the dark.

Thankfully though, I have cultivated an attitude of gratitude…and that does help. It helps a lot. It allows to come out of the clouds and shine a beam on those things I am truly grateful for. Makes them stand out. Reminds me more fully of my luck and to be thank for that husband I love and who loves me, my home, transportation, and two wonderful dogs.

I have this friend that I am having to avoid lately. This person is always caught up in drama. Depressed and stressed about rent, school, traffic, health, room mates, income, and what if after what if after what if?

I often talk about my Where’s Waldo philosophy of life. That if one tries, they can find Waldo in the immense picture of life. If they are looking for something to be stressed or depressed about, they will find it and it will get so easy to find it that it will become second nature. If on the other hand they’re looking for something to be grateful for, that can be done as well, even during the worst of days.

So today, while it took a bit of work (and that’s okay) I saw things to be grateful for today….

1) A friend who lives in Hawaii who cares about me and frequently sends me little encouraging notes. He did today. Several times.

2) They work day went fairly fast. It was a 12-day so that was good.

3) The Evil Team Leader has been nicer lately. Quite a bit so. It would be easy–because of experience–to say, “Well it won’t last.” I didn’t say it today. Not once.

4) The Evil Team Leader left at lunch time. I didn’t have to deal with him the whole end of the day.

5) A managerial person who I’ve grown to dread even seeing across a room was cool today–even friendly.

6) I read a truly wonderful little story today called “Burdens Lightened” by Angelia Sparrow. Girl! It needs to be a novel. And can there be anything more ironic than its title?

7) Angelia is always supportive and has been especially so lately

8) I made a new friend this past week named Gabriel. High five boy!

9) Dinner was ready when I go home today

10) My bestie Will was here

11) There was cuddling

12) I got smiles from three cute guys today that are easily half my age. Who cares that they are problaby straight. They were sexy smiles.

13) They this is day 313 of 365 Days of Silver and I haven’t missed a day yet.

14) I have at least 313 things to be grateful for! wow. That’s a lot.

15) This list got easier and faster the more I wrote it.

All of this threw a mighty and bright BEAM of LIGHT on the following facts:

I have a husband I love and who loves me, a home, transportation, and two wonderful dogs. They were very happy when I got home.

Most of all I am grateful that I was not only able to find something to be grateful for during a rough day, but numerous things.

And that gives me courage to face tomorrow.

And one more thing to be grateful for?

I know for a FACT that it gets better.

It really does.

How wonderful is that?

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

.
photograph by Modnar at morgueFile

2 thoughts on “Day 313 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful That I Have the Ability to Be Grateful

  1. Your writing skills are so evident in your blogs, they are a joy and inspiration to read. I can see and feel the CSL teachings coming through. WONDERFUL JOB!

    Like

Leave a Reply

