Day 311 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Thankful for (a Free) Breakfast

breakfast

“You need to let the little things that would ordinarily bore you suddenly thrill you.”
~~ Andy Warhol

They say there is no such thing as a free breakfast…but they’re wrong.

R and I had a big wonderful breakfast with our bestie Cricket today.

I had eggs and hash browns and bacon and sausage and biscuits and gravy and French toast and coffee and apple juice. R and Cricket had variations of that plus huge made to order omelets.

Delicious.

Seems the hotel messed up on a few things including the fact that the hot tub at the pool is broken—something I was counting on to help celebrate my anniversary. Back is killing me.

To make up for it they gave us a free breakfast at the hotel morning buffet.

Everything was good. Really, really good. And then there was the company of friends.

A free breakfast.

A huge variety of stuff.

I didn’t have to fix it.

It would have been a pain and then there would have been the cleanup.

Instead we get a huge breakfast on out anniversary and all we gave was a tip. Because of course why punish the waiters?

What a perfect beginning for the day.

I got a nap in there too.

Didn’t have to take a vacation day (of which I don’t have any left this year) to celebrate said anniversary either.

Not bad.

Not bad at all.

It’s the little things in life.

And fifteen years with my lovely husband isn’t a little thing.

Neither is a free breakfast in a world where what I had would have fed a family.

I am remembering to be grateful.

It’s the best way to live.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

