Day 302 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ A Letter to Sarah Jane

dog3

“Until one has loved an animal a part of one’s soul remains unawakened.”
~~ Anatole France

Dear Sarah Jane

I want you to know I love you with all of my heart.

Until you I wasn’t entirely sure what “namasté” meant.

Namasté: The Divine in me sees and honors the Divine in you.

I have always loved animals. Since I was tiny.

I have had dogs, cats, gerbils, hamsters, rabbits, guinea pigs, mice, snapping turtles, box turtles, painted turtles, canneries, budgies, finches (several kinds), salamanders, chameleons, an iguana, snakes, fish of all kinds from tropical to fish I caught and kept alive for a very long time, and many many more….

I loved animals. But despite that, animals were still “just” animals.

Until you Little Miss Sarah Jane….

I looked into your beautiful brown eyes and something happened. Something I can’t explain….

Something inside me…opened.

A while later my mother took me to the Dolly Parton Dixie Stampede Show in Branson, MO, and there was this point where the horses ran by and I kept finding myself looking right into the eyes of these magnificent animals. They were looking back at me! Right into my eyes. I felt like they were looking into my soul.

Later I went up to the stables. There was this horse I wanted to meet. I went right to him and his handler ran up and yelled a warning. “He can be mean!” he all but shouted. But that horse wasn’t. He walked right up to me and let me touch him and he was magnificent and soft and so alive and his handler stood there and said, “Wow! I don’t see that very often….”

Sarah Jane? That was all you.

I spoke to a couple of vets and rescue service people about you. This is what they told me.

You, my itsy bitsy insy winsy teeny tiny little woman, are my soul dog. I guess you are my familiar. In times past I would have been burned at the stake for my love of you.

You taught me the sacredness of life. Because of you I find it hard to wash a spider down the sink. I defend animals everywhere. A bat got loose in the warehouse at work and I not only threw myself if the way of someone who tried to kill it, I made sure that all the dock doors were opened so it could get free.

You taught me the sacredness of all life. You taught me the true meaning of what the Bible says about the animals!

Job 12:7: But ask now the beasts, and they shall teach thee; and the fowls of the air, and they shall tell thee:

Genesis 1:26: And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.

And in the end, what does “dominion” mean in this case? Caregiver, that’s what. God gave us the responsibility to take care of His creation…and not harm it.

Dearest Sarah Jane…with the introduction of Oliver into our lives I have NOT replaced you! You cannot be replaced.

Those vets warned me. They told me that a soul dog often only shows up once in your life. I see that you are my soul dog. You cannot be replaced and will never be replaced/

Dear Sarah Jane…. Thank you for being so kind to Oliver. Thank you for letting him share the couch and the bed and the back yard. I was warned you might be territorial but you haven’t been.

You have given him a little warning growl here and there, but you haven’t been mean or snapped at him or anything. You’ve just let in right in!

Thank you Sarah Jane.

I love you with all my heart.

And today, I am once more grateful for you.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

2 thoughts on “Day 302 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ A Letter to Sarah Jane

  1. B.G.,
    The moment I met you at GRL I knew that you were someone special. I felt the love and caring you have within you. Reading this made my heart swell knowing the man you are and how you feel in your heart and soul. Animals are special creations made by God and they bring out the best in us. One day I hope to meet you again. You took a little piece of my heart knowing you. You have a heart of gold and your husband and your two little dogs are a wonderful family. I’m blessed to have known you!
    Love,
    Pam Kay❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Pam,
      Thank you. Your words came at the perfect time. You don’t know. You’ll never know. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
      I look so forward to meeting you again one day.
      XOXOXOXO
      Ben

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

