Day 301 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for Found Keys

“Happiness is a simple game of lost and found: Lose the things you take for granted, and you will feel great happiness once they are found.”
~~ Richelle E. Goodrich

I’ve found the only thing I can misplace that will make my stomach drop more is to misplace my wallet and ID. Keys can be worse at times because, of course, I can’t even go for a walk around the block, because I can’t even lock the front door.

I can’t go to work.

I can’t run out for takeout.

It sucks.

I am one of those people who drop my keys wherever and have no idea where to find them later. Once I found them in the refrigerator.

So I realized I was going to have to put myself into a habit of always putting my keys in the same place and my husband found this wonderful little basket and I always put them in there. Well, almost always.

I didn’t on Monday when we got home from Brookfield. Don’t know what the heck I was thinking. This meant I didn’t have a clue where they were. It meant I walked in with them in my hand while I carried loads of stuff from the car and dropped them someplace (like I did once in the refrigerator).

This was not good.

I tried not to worry.

I tried not to stress.

And I did okay. Not great, but okay.

Better than I used to do.

I have a friend who would have stressed so badly that s/he would probably have gotten sick. “But you don’t understand! That key chain includes a key fob that would be very expensive to replace and I can’t afford it! And my puppy key, which costs more than regular keys. And….” And and and andandandand….

All that stressing which would have done nothing but make the day worse. Far worse. I decided I wasn’t going to ruin my whole fripping day over something I couldn’t help or do anything about.

Because I got an idea.

I very well might have left them in the car.

And when R got home I found out that was exactly what I did.

So thank God! I am so grateful. It would have been a huge pain in the butt to replace all that stuff and more.

But what I am really grateful for is that I didn’t allow myself to stress all day about them. Because it would have only made things worse. I wouldn’t have created a reality that didn’t exist. Reality was that my keys were in my husband’s car.

All is well in the world.

And I am so grateful.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

