Day 291 od 365 Days of Silver ~~ Thankful for a New Story Release

From ghoulies and ghosties
And long-leggedy beasties
And things that go bump in the night,
Good Lord, deliver us!
~~ traditional Scottish prayer

Sometime back, a new and very different anthology was released by Dreamspinner Press. It wasn’t their usual type of book, but it was one I could certainly appreciate. The series is called

Dreamspinner focuses on Male/Male Romance. And while the tales of this anthology series has that, it is more focused on the chilling, the spooky, the macabre.

As much as I adore writing romantic fiction, horror has been my first love for as long as I can remember. Long ago, when I was in fourth grade, I was in a Scouts group called Webelos. Our leader took us to the drive inn where I saw Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing in an old film called The Horror of Dracula. I was hooked.

I began to read everything I could get my hands on dealing with vampires and other creatures. I loved to be scared. But I also loved that the hero won the day in the end.

At fourteen, I discovered Stephen King with his very first novel Carrie. For a kid that was pretty much hated by everyone in high school, this book was a treasure. And I never stopped reading the Master of Horror from that moment forward.

Then, when I was sixteen, a book was released that turned the vampire tale on its ear; Interview with the Vampire, by Anne Rice. Suddenly the vampire was the sympathetic one!

But again, the most important thing to me is that the heroes triumph over evil, and sometimes get love in the bargain. I do not like the tendency in today’s horror for everyone to die at the end. That was not what I read or watched horror for. Yes I liked to be scared, but I liked that the good guys won!

Through the years I have come to love so many genres, but I can’t help but always return to the roots of what made me love to write.

So imagine how thrilled I was when four masters of MM—Eli Easton, Jamie Fessenden, Kim Fielding and Sue Brown asked me to join in their new series Gothika.

Now I not only get to write stories about gay men who fall in love with each other—as opposed to gay men who die of AIDS or get bashed or get left alone to live a “deserved” lonely existence—but I get to write scary as well.

But not too scary!

And the good guys win.

I loved being a part of volume two, Bones, stories about voodoo and such. I had to bow out on werewolves, which just about killed me (no pun intended). And I was crazy about writing for Spirit, stories about ghosts.

In fact, I think that Unfinished Business just might be one of the best stories I’ve ever written. And yes, it has a happy ending. Of course it does!

Here is the blurb about my story:

Unfinished Business by B.G. Thomas

Mike Ellsworth was alive and well one minute, and dead the next. Only he’s not really dead—he’s a ghost. One with lots of unfinished business. He’s never told his wife that he has come to accept that he’s gay. He’s never told her that he has a secret lover. He’s never been able to tell his lover that he is in love with him. Now there’s nothing Mike can do about it. And that’s only the beginning! He soon finds out he can help other ghosts leave the spirit world and step into the light. So what’s keeping him stuck on earth? If only there were a way he could make up for all he’s done wrong, and finally do what’s truly right. And maybe, just maybe, there is.

What a blessing to be a part of such an amazing anthology series. What a blessing to turn back to my roots (horror stories were the first genre I wrote in back when I was a kid). What a blessing to work with such amazing authors, and be included. What a blessing to show that a story can be a little scary, and also very romantic (and hey! my first story for Dreamspinner Press was about a mummy!).

What a blessing to be doing what I love to do!

What could be better than that?

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: You can find my new novella by clicking RIGHT HERE.

Leave a Reply

