Day 285 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ So Grateful For (New) Shoes on My Feet


“Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world.”
~~ Marilyn Monroe

“One shoe can change your life.”
~~ Cinderella

.
So the other day I got a new pair of shoes and I am pretty happy about it. I got them at Garry Gribble’s Running Sports—a specialty shoe store. They weren’t cheap. But to make things even better, my mother bought them for me.

I have flat feet and a problem with one toe sometimes because of the knee replacement surgery—I know weird things happen to nerves sometimes during surgery. I still to this day have a numb spot on my tummy from my gallbladder surgery eight years ago.

My brother recommended a high quality pair of shoes and I finally took his advise and for the most part, he was right.

Last time I got a pair of Nikes, but you know what? I’m not sure I liked them all that much.

They hurt my left big toe. The weird surgery one.

But I was going to get Nikes again! And for what reason? The brand name.

*hangs head in shame*

What can I say?

They didn’t have my size and width but told me they could order a pair. But when they showed me? Yuck! Horrible! Either Tin Man metallic silver or shoes with florescent orange and green. They were fugly. It would be one thing if I ever wore them during the summer with shorts and a tank top, but shoes that expensive? I need to wear them all the time, especially at work to be able to handle standing for twelve hours. I want tennis shoes I can wear all the time, even business casual. Florescent orange just doesn’t lend itself that way.

So instead I got a pair of a brand of shoes called Brooks. I’ve never heard of them and they don’t have that brand recognition. And the only reason the brand really is all that important to me is that even cheap shoes look great these days. For some darned reason I figured if the shoes were going to cost that much, I wanted it clear they weren’t cheap shoes.

I know, I know.

Ego. Silly, silly ego.

The thing I have to see, and am seeing, and that I already knew of course, was that what matters is that they feel good. And these feel good.

Something tells me they are going to be a good pair of shoes. I’ve worn them quite a bit since Sunday. And they feel good. See, I am a man who would rather go barefoot anytime and anyplace. I get home and off go the shoes. I go to a friend’s house and off go the shoes. But these?

I wear them and forget to kick them off!

Now because of that troublesome big toe, I still had a little problem after a twelve-hour shift. But compared to all my other shoes? Nothing! And they really are almost like walking on air. Incredibly comfortable.

What a blessing!

Today I am grateful for a new pair of shoes. And the fact that my sweet mother bought them only makes it all the sweeter.

But there’s more…. Because shoes? They’re another one of those things in our lives that we often take for granted. They are millions of people out there, millions of children, who don’t own something as simple as a pair of shoes!

And I was worried about branding?

Thank you Mom and thank you Universe for my new shoes. And thanks for reminding me what a blessing they are.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

2 thoughts on “Day 285 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ So Grateful For (New) Shoes on My Feet

Leave a Reply

