Day 269 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for Comfort Movies (Specifically “Practical Magic” Tonight)

My darling girl, when are you going to realize that being normal is not necessarily a virtue? It rather denotes a lack of courage!
~~ Aunt Frances Owens

There’s a little witch in all of us.
~~ Aunt Jet Owens
Practical Magic

You know when you’ve had your knees taken care of and you think you’re okay for awhile and then you start getting these out of the blue twinges and over the months it gets bad enough that you have to actually call in to work and you are also running to the bathroom with some kind of stomach thing…and you just need a comfort movie?

I have several.

One of those is Shelter—and how. A beautiful love story with amazing actors and I bet I’ve seen it at least a hundred times.

Another—and last night’s and tonight’s—is Practical Magic.

One of my favorite movies of all time. I know I’ve seen it no less than fifty times.

I love the story and all the actors and the dialogue and the full circle of it all and oooooooh that soundtrack!

You put the lime in the coconut, you drink ‘em bot’ up
Put the lime in the coconut, you drink ‘em bot’ up….

Or one of my all-time favorite songs and singers, Stevie Nicks….

Do you always trust your first initial feeling?
Special knowledge holds truth bears believing
I turned around and the water was closing all around
Like a glove, like the love that had finally, finally found me

I hear a lot of hate for this movie because it isn’t nearly as good as the book—that it didn’t do it justice. But then I tried the book and couldn’t finish the first chapter. Not that I won’t try again—sometimes the moment isn’t right. What was true of Eat Pray Love for me and now I’ve read it a half dozen times an it’s one of my all time favorite books—changed my life and crystallized my leaping-life.

But I don’t care what other people think. I love it.

And it has so many great lines:

Sally Owens: And I don’t want them dancing naked under the full moon!
Aunt Jet Owens: No, of course. The nudity is entirely optional. As you well remember!

Aunt Jet Owens: And this is what comes from dabbling; I mean you can’t practice witchcraft while you look down your nose at it.

Gary Hallet: Did you or your sister kill James Angelov?
Sally Owens: Yeah, a couple of times.

Old Man Wilkes: [Getting interviews by Officer Hallet about the Owens] Go arrest her! Their niece owns a shop where they cook up a special placenta. And that’s why the Aunts don’t age! I tell you, they just don’t age!
Gary Hallet: [Doubtful] She’s selling placentas?
Old Man Wilkes: [With gleeful conviction] A placenta bar!

And one of the very best….

Sally Owens: [to Gary] Magic isn’t just…spells and potions. Your badge? It’s just a star, just another symbol. Your talisman. It can’t stop criminals in their tracks, can it? It has power because you believe it does. Wish you could believe in me.

And so many more….

Love love love this movie.

And that’s all that really matters.

It makes me feel good.

It makes me smile.

It makes me laugh.

It makes me want to get up and dance around the room singing, “You put the lime in the coconut, you drink ‘em bot’ up. Put the lime in the coconut, you drink ‘em bot’ up….”

And that’s a good thing.

Feeling good helps manifest good. Right back to that old Law of Attraction. Thoughts Become Things. And when we are feeling good, we are thinking good, and we are attracting good…!

I love and am grateful for comfort movies.

And tonight I am especially grateful for Practical Magic. And heck. Magick in general! Because…

Sally Owens: …there are some things I know for certain. Always throw spilt salt over your left shoulder. Keep rosemary by your garden gate. Plant lavender for luck. And fall in love whenever you can.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: What are your comfort movies?

6 thoughts on “Day 269 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for Comfort Movies (Specifically “Practical Magic” Tonight)

  1. I don’t have comfort movies. I have comfort books. There’s a huge list so I’ll narrow it down to one – Good Omens by Pterry and Neil Gaiman. It’s about the essential goodness of human nature and heroism found in unexpected places and that even the most unlovable can find a soul mate.

    Like

  2. “The Nightmare Before Christmas” was the first movie I ever saw in the theater. I’ve watched it countless times and could probably recite the whole movie. I remember me and my brothers singing all of the songs when we were kids. Good times! 🙂

    Like

  3. My all time favorite comfort movie is Labyrinth, i got me through some pretty rough times in the bad old days. Every moment of it feels warm and comforting to me. Two other comfort movies will brand me as odd, but I don’t care! And those are Logan’s Run, and A Boy And His Dog.

    Like

  4. I have a few, and even though I love action movies and horror, my comfort movies are pure chick flick–except, of course, chick flicks are really for everybody who believes in love! Anyway, Pretty Woman is one. Another is The American President. And finally, one you probably haven’t heard of because it never found a distributor, but I saw it at a film festival and bought the DVD. It is called 10 Inch Hero and is about some people who work at a sandwich shop in California. The theme of it is basically about letting go of your fears and coming out from behind the masks you wear to make a real connection, and it is very funny and sweet.

    Like

    • Oh, I love Pretty Woman! I’m not sure if I’ve heard of The American President. And I look and see if I can find 10 Inch Hero! Thanks for replying!

      Like

Leave a Reply

