Day 249 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Thankful for Nature

My Religion is Kindness
My Church is Nature
My God is a Feeling that lives deep inside
My Job is to be Conscious
My Path is Forgiveness
My Religion is Kindness
And I practice it every day
~~ Karen Drucker

Nature is my church. When I am out at camp or sitting in a park or walking on a beach or watching a sunset or walking in the rain…it is when I truly feel closest to My Creator.

There are these two paths through the trees at Camp Gaea that remind me of some hallway in some marvelous cathedral that I am often stopped in awe. All that green. Shafts of sunlight breaking through. The birds. The sawing of the cicadas. The soft earth beneath my feet. The scent of the growing things.

Church.

When I am floating on the lake on a raft and I fall asleep drifting along…paradise.

When I see a lovely butterfly or find myself swimming next to a muskrat under the light of a full moon or stand mere feet from a feeding hovering humming bird or find myself gazing at a stunning luna moth…I am in the presence of the Divine. It is namasté. Namasté: the sacred in me sees and honors the sacred in you. In everything.

At night, listening to the chirruping of the crickets. Or the rain on the cabin roof or tent roof—well as long as I’m not worried about the tent leaking…I am soothed softly to sleep.

Or when it rains when the sun is out! OMG! Talk about feeling close to “God.”

We don’t go camping as much as we used to. I vow that will happen again after I give up The Evil Day Job.

Hey! R shocked me recently. R! Who never wants to leave his basement, was reading about this place called Isle Royale National Park in Michigan. And he wants to go! My husband!

Here is what Wikipedia say about the park: Isle Royale National Park is a U.S. National Park on Isle Royale and adjacent islands in Lake Superior, in the state of Michigan. Isle Royale National Park was established on April 3, 1940; designated as a National Wilderness Area in 1976; and made an International Biosphere Reserve in 1980. The park covers 894 square miles (2,320 km2), with 209 square miles (540 km2) above water. At the U.S.-Canada border, it meets the borders of the future Canadian Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area…. …The Greenstone Ridge is a high ridge in the center of the island and carries the longest trail in the park, the Greenstone Ridge Trail, which runs 40 miles (64 km) from one end of the island to the other. This is generally done as a 4 or 5 day hike. A boat shuttle can carry hikers back to their starting port. In total there are 165 miles (266 km) of hiking trails. There are also canoe/kayak routes, many involving portages, along coastal bays and inland lakes.

I mean that sounds pretty rustic!

I wasn’t over willing because of my lack of vacation time. But when I don’t need to worry about that? It will happen! I’m willing, even though it might be just a tad more rustic than this queen is used to!

Because Nature is my Church.

And right now—I’m in the midst of four days and three nights of Church.

Talk about having a lot to be grateful for!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

