Day 234 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful to Be Back in Brookfield with My Husband

“Perhaps home is not a place but simply an irrevocable condition.”
~~ James Baldwin

So yesterday R announced he was going to spend another weekend in his hometown. I was a little disappointed because he’s been suddenly going there quite a bit. Getting passed over for the promotion he should have gotten was pretty crushing for him and Brookfield gives him peace and solace so I wasn’t about to discourage him.

Then this morning, when I was getting up for work (at 4:45 AM) he got up even though he had the day off, sort of mystifying me.

“Why are you up, Babe?” I asked.

“I woke up and I’m awake so I just decided to go ahead and get up.

So I stumbled around and brushed my teeth, going only by autopilot and went downstairs to check on email.

When R suddenly said, “You know there is no rush for me to get to Brookfield. I’ll wait until you get off of work if you want to go.”

I was surprised. I didn’t even know what to say. Plus my brain wasn’t working.

But I realized he was waiting for an answer.

I explained that my brain was still thick and could I call him on my first break and he said yes.

“But is there a reason you want me to go?” I asked.

“I like it when you go with me, Baby.”

He wanted me to go!

Needless to say that by the time I got to work I had already decided I was going.

It would break my Sunday night “date” with my bestie Cricket, but heck!

R wanted me to go with him!

I was going!

Plus we spend a ton of time together in Brookfield. In Kansas City he gets home from work and goes down his man-cave in the basement and then I get home around an hour later and often I don’t see him until he goes up to bed—and not even then if I went to bed first and was snoring away when he went up himself. R was raised an only child by a single mother.

He needs major alone time.

Sometimes I get lonely even thought he’s in the same house as me.

But in Brookfield?

In Brookfield we have lots and lots and lots of time together.

And I am very very thankful.

What could be better than that?

Guess where I am?

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: I am also quite grateful to be online! It was touch and go there! Getting later and later and later and I was–oh no! I’m not going to make Day 234 of 365 Days of Silver! The hotspot on my cell phone wasn’t working, I was trying not to panic–They’ll forgive me! It’ll count that I wrote it and I was unable to post it!–when finally R reminded me that I have a dongle (sp?). I don’t know what the heck a “dongle” is, except that it is some mystical devise with fairies (or faeries) inside that somehow magickally allows me to get online. But then it wanted a password and it has never ever asked for that and just when I had exhausted every single password that I could think of–voilà!–I was online! Whew! And bringing 365 Days of Silver to the Internet!

(just when I was beginning to suspect a “dongle” was akin to a “smoke bender,” “snipe,” “sky-hook” or an “exhaust sample!”)

Leave a Reply

