Day 226 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Thankful For Messages

“You are guided!”
~~ Shannon Walbran

Something happened to me today …. Some would discount it. But not me! I’m learning not to.

Some people believe that we have guides. And I don’t mean a parent or a teacher or a friend. I mean something more metaphysical….more spiritual.

For some people these “guides” come in the form of animals; Owl or Wolf or Bear or Fox or Spider. For others they’re more…human-like. Like angels or beings that were once alive and somehow were transformed into something more than ghosts and less than alive.

The whole thing interested me enough to take a class once. We were all put through a guided meditation taking us to mental place where we could “see” our guide or guides.

And damn if I didn’t see this man with an immense pleated beard, darkish skin, lots of makeup, even more jewelry–huge earrings–and dazzling robes. He looked Babylonian. But then again I fell asleep. To my embarrassment I even snored.

I didn’t tell my classmates about this dude. It all sounded too…well…wackado. even if they would have probably believed me. It was that kind of group.

But it always sounded so Shirley MacLain to me. So Sylvia Browne.

I mean…come on. Angels? Spirit guides? Out to help me? Why? If such beings exist, wouldn’t they have better things to do? More important business?

Any yet… There have been those times where I’ve felt like there was a “whispering” in my right ear.

Don’t take that way home from work today…

But that book…!

Go to that camping event…

I’ll never know if taking a different route home that day saved my life, or even permitted me from getting a ticket. But that book I felt compelled to buy? It turned out to be Eat, Pray, Love, and it was one of the most life changing books I’ve ever read. And the camping event? It turned out to be where I met this man named Jim who told me all about Midwest Men’s Festival, one of the most important experiences in my life and one I’ve repeated annually for well over ten years. My life revolves around MMF.

I’ve learned to trust that occasional “voice.” From what I’ve read, it’s nothing like what schizophrenics hear. Also, from what I’ve read, learning to listen to and trust that voice is like working out muscles—you get better and stronger.

Listening has helped me time and time again. And sometimes it’s simply been comforting.

I was feeling pretty low today—all this crap with work, and I was trying to find a Silver Lining—when out of the blue the music of the Five Stairsteps filled my head.

Ooh-oo child, things are gonna get easier
Oo-oh, things’ll get better.

Then I was singing along and a loud!

“Ooh-oo child, things are gonna get easier
Oo-oh, things’ll get better.”

And a co-worker immediately started singing with me. She smiled at me and said, “Ooh-oo, does this mean Ben is feeling better?”

“I-I don’t know,” I stammered. “But wow! That song just suddenly started playing in my head.” And the, because with Tamika, I can; “D-do you think it’s some kind of message?”

Her whole face lite up. It was mesmerizing! “From God?” she asked. “You know I do! Are you listening?”

Yes Tamika. You know that I am…

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

2 thoughts on “Day 226 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Thankful For Messages

  1. It’s not schizophrenia. I have that voice too. It stopped me from signing the papers when i pregnant with Jon, saying “Someone is not yet here who should be.”
    It gives me wild ideas: truck driving school, for one.

    And every time it leads me off the cliff, it teaches me to fly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

