Day 214 Days of Silver ~~ Welcome Home

This morning I went to church and it was a lovely service with some wonderful music and a really nice message.

Three things happened that confirmed everything is lining up. I was so moved I posted about it on my Facebook “Check In” feature.

First I should mention that there is something we do at Midwest Men’s Festival that I really like. When we first see each other we say, “Welcome home.” But what is really, really cool is the power of saying it to someone who has never been to Festival. And I can’t speak for others, but when it was first said to me those long years ago, it was a very powerful experience.

Welcome home.

Wow.

For years now returned to the “real word” has been terribly depressing. A shock. Horrible even. But this year something occurred which I can’t easily explain. It started when I realized I should stop calling the world outside of MMF “the real world.” Because what I am seeing is just how much of this supposed “real world” is illusion. It is masks. It is “proper” ways to behave around friends, neighbors, and most especially work. What you can say and what you can’t say. How you can dress. What you can talk about and what you can’t.

And I am tired of it. I have been for a long time. It’s why I go to the church I do. I can wear a sarong and get compliments from a man in a suit. I can wear my giant floor-length knitted sweater of many colors and get high fives and thumbs up. In fact I chose to wear it once to the City Market—embarrassing my friend—and got happy attention everywhere. Compliments over and over again and a high offer to sell it (I didn’t of course).

The real world is my heart and how I show it and shape the world around me.

A startling confirmation of that was when I got to church this morning and this lovely friend of mine said, “Welcome home.” She had no idea what she was saying to me, although what was wonderful was that it meant the same thing it mean’s at MMF. This wasn’t some line tossed out because you are supposed to say things like that. She meant it.

And she and I know how much the Center for Spiritual Living is home.

Then during the message the speaker said something that I already knew…it’s what I talk about here all the time. But it was another confirmation. I felt it soul deep.

Gratitude, he basically said, is prayer.

And it is. That is what this whole blog is about. Appreciating what the Universe/God/the Supreme Being (whatever people) want to call It has given me. Focusing on what is good instead of the plentiful things in the world that are not so good really changes the world around us.

I believe with all my heart, I’ve seen a lot of evidence to this, that what comes to me is what I focus on. And if I focus on gratitude, the Universe will just send me more to be grateful for. And if I focus on what I don’t want, I have seen evidence of this as well (really!), then more and more of that comes as well. If I focus on how much I hate my job, it gets worse and worse and worse. I have learned that the Universe sends me what I think about. If I think my job is getting worse, it cheerfully and lovingly provides me more “worse.” The last few days at work were so much better because I didn’t give the “worse” any power over me and refused to give the Evil Team Lead any power over me.

In one of my favorite movies, The Abyss, one character says to another (in reference to the fact that they have made contact with alien): We all see what we want to see. Coffey looks and he sees Russians. He sees hate and fear. You have to look with better eyes than that.

That’s what I’ve learned. To see with better eyes

I take comfort in knowing that even if I am delusional and none of what I believe is real, I am far happier believing in this “stuff” than I ever was before.

Finally, the third confirmation was when I went to the Practitioner for prayer about getting a part time job (and getting it fast) so I can leave my Evil Day Job, from her first words she was saying back exactly what I had been telling myself.

I can have exactly what I want, when I want it, if I believe. The Universe doesn’t differentiate something “small” or something “big.” We access those words and descriptions. I can have anything that I believe in.

I believe everything is lining up!

Everything I want is coming!

And how can I not be grateful for that?

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

.
photograph by Brouwer from morgueFile

Leave a Reply

