Day 212 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ So Grateful for Meat!

tacos

“I see you, brother, and I thank you. Your spirit will run with Eywa, while your body will remain and become part of the People.”
~~ Avatar

So tonight’s dinner was a chopped steak taco and a carnitas taco and wow oh wow oh wow was it good!

I always thought that if I had a boyfriend that was vegetarian and a good cook I could go mostly vegetarian myself. And I still think so….

But after ten or so days of almost exclusively vegetarian meals at Midwest Men’s Festival, I needed meat!

Please note that should be pronounced the same way that Cookie Monster pronounces “cook-ie!!!”

No, seriously. This started as just a bit of a joke…but then got quite serious.

I have no idea which taco was better, but I saved up calories all day and I don’t think it should hurt the old diet.

Sitting here so satiated and happy.

Thank you sincerely, and I mean this, to the two animals that gave their lives so I could eat tonight. Know that I honor your spirit, your mind and your life.

A scene that I think is very powerful in the movie Avatar is where we see how sacred the hunt is to the Na’vi, the natives of the planet Pandora. When they take a life they thank the animal.

I see you, brother, and I thank you. Your spirit will run with Eywa, while your body will remain and become part of the People.

As I have become more and more attuned to vegetarism, and because of the love I have for my dog Sarah Jane, and the sacredness she has shown me is in all life, the more it becomes clear to me that I must never take for granted the animals that I eat.

And this blog is all about reminding myself to never take anything for granted, the big and the small.

So today, I am very grateful for meat. And the sacred circle of life.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

