Day 206 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful For Skinny Dipping

Skinny Dipping 1

“What spirit is so empty and blind that it cannot grasp the fact that a human foot is more noble than the shoe and the human skin more beautiful than the garment with which it is clothed.”
~~ Michelangelo

“There’s something therapeutic about nudity. Clothing is one of the external things about a character. Take away the Gucci or Levis and we’re all the same.”
~~ Kevin Bacon

One of my favorite things at Men’s Festival is the mass skinny dipping. And on days where the temperatures can sore into the low 100s, it’s a relief as well as a joy.

There is no hiding anything when we’re skinny dipping either. The rolls and the scars and the many things that make us all feel imperfect are all there for anyone to see. As it turns out, in my ways it is the great equalizer. No one is perfect, not even the most gorgeous men, in these conditions.

There is something truly wonderful about swimming naked as well. So freeing. So liberating. It is truly one of my favorite things in life.

Laying out on the grassy hill above the man-made beach is nice too. The breeze, the sun (if one wants it), the air, the…everything. Sitting around with my brothers talking, joking, sipping sodas or cocktails, relaxing…it is a great pleasure. It’s amazing how close you feel to your friends and gay brothers.

There is even a spirituality to it, although that is hard to explain. It all comes down to just being all the same—even with the obvious differences. I don’t feel so anxious or self-conscious, even though I wish I’d lost another twenty pounds before I got here. No one is judging. With my body issues, it feels pretty darned good.

Compared to the world that I spend my other 353 days a year, that is pretty special.

And I am so grateful…

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Skinny Dipping 2

Leave a Reply

