Day 204 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful That I Am Making Healthy Choices

“I believe that the greatest gift you can give your family and the world is a healthy you.”
~~ Joyce Meyer

Midwest Men’s Festival is vegetarian event—for several reasons. This includes the spiritual aspect as well as a practical one. Days are often in the nineties and some times over a hundred degrees during the end of July. It is much easier to keep non-meat products from going bad.

However, to add flavor, many of the recipes includes lots and lots of butter, oils, cheese, other dairy, and more. I have many times come home from Festival five pounds heavier (and even more).

With my weight loss I was hoping to be able to make healthy choices and so far, so good!

I had one meal where I went a little overboard but that was really before festival started when we all went into town for dinner (meals weren’t being provided yet) and had barbeque (which included fried pickles, and I had too many—soooo good!).

And one morning a brother made me pancakes with fresh blueberries and turkey bacon. He gave me twice as many as I needed and I ate them…. *sigh* Oh, well!

Since then it has been good. Single helpings, only one of Baker Greg’s amazing home made chocolate chip cookies last night, a wonderful green smoothie and other wise choices (I totally skipped and was only barely tempted by the cake bites this morning). The green smoothie, by the way, was spinach, kale, basil, fennel, a half a pear and seeds (pumpkin, sunflower and flax).

I’ve been very satisfied and resisting “bad” food has been very inspiring for me.

Plus I must leave calories for the many splendored cocktails we have in the late evening!

So far I am very happy and having a wonderful and relaxed time—I more than deserve it!

And I am getting writing done besides.

That’s a heck of a lot to be grateful for!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

2
The cake bites that I did not eat–not even one–and they are very small.

3
A very healthy lunch with a watermelon pear salad, a cheese sandwich which my top was lettuce instead of a second piece of bread, and a onion cornmeal casserole.

One thought on “Day 204 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful That I Am Making Healthy Choices

  1. You’re rocking that sarong, B.G, and I hope you have a fabulous time! BTW we found some fun mushrooms few weeks ago, while hunting for boletes. After our resident field mycologist identified them, I was all, “Oh, so THAT’s what they look like!” And I thought of your fine work of fiction 🙂 Great writing. I’ll have to get the other seasons as well! Have a good time and stay safe in the heat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

