Day 196 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Thankful for Weight Loss

“Eating crappy food isn’t a reward — it’s a punishment.”
~~ Drew Carey

“We may not be able to control life’s circumstances, but we always have a choice about how we use our minds to respond to them.”
~~ Elaine Moran

I have said it before and I will say it again. I am thankful for weight loss. In the last six weeks or so I have gotten rid of twenty-five pounds! And I feel it already. I feel better already. My back doesn’t hurt as much. My feet don’t hurt as much. I’m not so breathless.

The best kind of reason to lower my weight.

Because I have come to realize that at my age the chances of me becoming a muscle man are slim to none. I could do it. It could happen. But actually, I am learning to love myself the way I am and I think it is safe to say I’m a bear.

Proud of it.

There isn’t a darn thing to be ashamed of. I little padding is okay.

But there are lots of healthy reasons to get rid of weight….

Not only is it healthier for my body and my feet and my knees and my heart—because many a person has had a heart attack do to obesity—but I’ve found a surprise or two. For instance, an estimated one out of every three cancer deaths in the United States is linked to excess body weight! I don’t understand why, but the more I looked, the more evidence I found to say just that. I think I fear cancer more than HIV. I worked of an oncologist. Cancer is a pretty awful way to go.

Please note, I avoid saying “loose weight.” Because loosing something implies something that I want to find. And I’ve found and lost and found these pounds many times in my life. There is power in out words. Tremendous power. So I want to use the right ones.

One thing that makes me happy though is that even though over six months or so I gained at least half the weight I lost a year ago, I’m still proud of myself. My usually way is to loose weight, gain it back, and then take three to five years to get myself back in the head space and self love to take on the huge challenge of loosing it again. I’ve done it over and over and over since I was in high school or even longer.

I’ve read it is known as “The Yo-You Diet.” It’s not all that healthy either. As a matter-of-fact, when my gallbladder actually died and went gangrenous, my surgeon asked me if I was one of those Yo-You Diet kind of people. That had been linked to just what had happened to me.

But this last weight loss? It did something to me that no other weight loss had done. It made me conscious of how much I liked eating and being healthy. Of paying attention to what I ate. To eating healthier foods. More vegetables. Less meat. And when I did so, healthier meat. Grass feed beef and chickens who lived and died in humane ways. A love of green smooties. Learning to eat slowly and enjoy every bite. I did not want to go back to that old Ben. I liked my new way of life.

It was the strange depression I went through that was my enemy. It allowed me to bury myself in tasty food. And gain a lot of weight back.

What makes me so proud and so grateful is that this time I didn’t wait so long. Not five years. Not three. Not even one.

I got back in control.

I started paying attention again.

I used all the tools I had learned.

And the weight came off.

I am not going for svelteness.

But I am going for a healthy weight.

My knees appreciate it.

My feet appreciate it.

And I am really going to appreciate it next week at Midwest Men’s Festival. For two weeks I will have to walk everywhere. I will walk miles every day. And it’s going to be hot.

And I?

I am going to be very grateful!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

One thought on “Day 196 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Thankful for Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

