Day 189 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for a Crisis Averted

POST

So I have written over 45 thousand words on my new novel in just three weeks. That’s no Andrew Grey pace, but I’m pretty proud. The book is rolling!

And this morning, since this is my half day and I don’t have to be at work until noon, I decided to work on the book.

Then quite suddenly Word locked up. It would not unlock. I had to close the document…. Crap, I thought. I haven’t save in about fifteen mintues. How much did I lose.

The thing is, I didn’t lose anything! Hurray!

But then…. The instant I tried to write…it froze again. And again. And again.

So I rebooted, thinking Word might be going crazy.

And it froze again.

And again.

So I emailed it to my editor–now in a state of panic that I had lost a 149 page manuscript—-and thank God, she could open it just fine. No problems. She sent it back with a new name.

And I opened it…and it froze.

I had opened several of my novellas with no problems. So did it have something to do with the length? So I opened my last novel, and it was fine. No problems.

So I took it upstairs and it opened just fine on my PC. The problem is I can’t take my PC out onto the front porch or the bathtub (believe it or not I do great writing in the bathtub—and no it’s not over the water) or to Men’s Festival in a little over a week.

I got to work and R asked me why I hadn’t emailed it to him. I called my editor and she did. Thank you Andi!

R copied it and pasted it into another document and emailed it back to me.

And I got home and it opened just fine and I am able to write.

What the heck happened? I don’t know. Not one clue. Heck, I’m amazed I can turn my computer on. I know I clickety-clack on the keys and words appear on the screen and then I press something else and they magickally save onto my harddrive. At least I think it’s called a harddrive. Or is it hard drive?

All I know is that a crisis has been averted. There is no way I could have re-written the book and working strickly on my PC would have been extremely disadvantageous.

Once more my wonderful husband has saved the day! With some help from my equally wonderful editor, Andi!

I am grateful.

Grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful grateful, grateful!

Oh. And grateful.

And relieved.

And Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

One thought on “Day 189 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for a Crisis Averted

Leave a Reply

