Day 184 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful For My Dear Friend Skyla

“Celebrate the people in your life who are there because they love you for no other reason than because you are YOU.”
~~ Mandy Hale

I am a very fortunate person.

I have lots of “dear” friends. And Sky? She’s a very dear friend.

I have very generous friends. And Sky? She’s a very generous friend.

I have loving and unselfish friends. Guess what? Yup! She is loving and totally unselfish.

I liked Sky from day one. She is outgoing and sweet and welcoming.

She is so incredibly kind. When a lady at work left for greener pastures it was Skyla who organized her going away party.

She is encouraging. She won’t like the Evil Day Job get me down. She brightens my day. She reminds me constantly that I am achieving my dreams and she was a hand to hold onto when I went through block where I wasn’t able to write for a few months.

“This place isn’t you, Ben. You are going to be a famous author! You’ll be going all over the world. And I will be able to say I knew you when!”

(Like I plan on ever letting her out of my life!)

Skyla makes me laugh! When I am happy or sad, she can get me laughing every time! And just seeing her waving at me across a huge room makes me smile. “Bennie!” she will shout and my mood boosts a hundred fold. And her hugs are amazing!

When R and I decided to get married, it was Skyla who organized our wedding shower.

In fact….drum roll please…she made our wedding happen. She was the one who gave our original package hotel accommodations to Baltimore! It was through her actions that we had a very expensive weekend—for free!

It was through her cleverness that R was willing to dress up on our wedding day by whispering in his ear (quite a bit I came to understand later) to get him to realize how important that was to me.

But probably most important of all is that Sky is so positive. Whenever I am having a rough day and am tempted to slip into negativity, there she is making sure I remember to stay positive. She is Sangha.

Sangha by the way is the Buddhist concept of keeping like-minded people are you. People who believe as you do and live life the way you want to live your life. Don’t want negative and manipulative people in your life—release them, like I had to do with my friend “Matthew.” Want positive and generous people in your life? People who make you laugh? People who love you no matter what? Then when you meet them, treat them that way. Make them part of your Sangha.

Sky is Sangha.

And she has a pretty darned special man in her life too.

And–oh! oh! oh!–we are all four going to Florida together in September! I can’t wait! It will be so much fun!

I am so grateful to have Sky in my life! I am a truly blessed man!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

