Day 166 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful That I Am Writing!!

20150615_214102

“The road to hell is paved with works-in-progress.”
~~ Philip Roth

“The greatest part of a writer’s time is spent in reading, in order to write; a man will turn over half a library to make one book.”
—Samuel Johnson

It’s amazing! I am writing again. And I mean writing!

Part of the whole reason I am doing this job is so that I had to use my writing skills everyday. That they didn’t atrophy or something. But this lack-of-motivation-of-any-kind-depression wasn’t letting me write my characters. Especially the ones I really wanted to write. It was far too easy to sit for days and watch movies on Netflix.

It wasn’t coming…and despair was catching hold of me.

But I’ve been saying for weeks now that bit by bit I was beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel and more and more convinced it wasn’t a train coming at me””

Watching Friends actually helped. It made me laugh and think of a group of people (characters) that loved and cared for each other (and became more than just characters).

And then following one of Stephen King’s number one pieces of advise….

Read.

I found I didn’t have time to read anymore. I was using every second of free time to write. Even my breaks at work.

But I also discovered that was extremely frustrating because I would just start to get into a scene and I would have to stop over and over and over again, hoping to find the pace of the scene on the next break. It was writus interruptus of the worst degree.

So then…. Why not read on my breaks instead?

So I tried it! I even started with Stephen King and reread The Dead Zone for the first time since it came out and loved it. Got some Amy Lane’s It’s Not Shakespeare in there too. And some Marie Sexton. Renae Kaye! And some Rick Reed (oh yeah) and now I know I have to get his new one….

And coupled with a wonderful conversation with listening and advise and more from my brilliant publisher Elizabeth North…today I wrote! The characters would hardly shut up! They are alive again! They are talking to me again!

I am so happy!

It’s baaaaaack!

And I still have two days off!

Happy days are here again….
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

