Day 164 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ SO Grateful for a GOOD Day with the Evil Team Leader

smile

“It’s like Forrest Gump said, ‘Life is like a box of chocolates.’ Your career is like a box of chocolates – you never know what you’re going to get. But everything you get is going to teach you something along the way and make you the person you are today. That’s the exciting part – it’s an adventure in itself.”
~~ Nick Carter

So the Evil Team Leader has be temporarily (possibly long term temporarily) loaned to another department, which is cause for much gratitude and celebration in itself. But he is still in charge of Saturdays, which is often the worst day of my week. And when it is a four-day work week, that can be pretty bad. It takes everything within me not to dread that day. I know it does no good and only makes it worse.

He is usually in a bad mood and vanishes for hours at a time. One might think these vanishings would be a good thing, but what it means is that I have to work very, very hard on my last day of the week because I am doing my work and his.

But today for some reason he was not only in good mood, he not only worked…but he was nice. He hung around me all day, and while that might be a curse most days, since he was in a good mood he laughed and was jolly the whole day. I didn’t get much alone time, but then that is usually the problem on Saturday—too much alone time!

So the thing I reminded myself over and over was—it could be somuch worse! Sooooooo much worse!

He was funny. He was nice. He wasn’t Evil Team Leader. He wasn’t a stickler for every tiny rule. And he was actually identifying with me.

What was really a shock was that he listened to me when we talked. Usually he isn’t listening to a word. He will ask a question about…say…same sex marriage. And I will answer and as I finish he will say, “I got these real cool boots the other day.” He wasn’t listening, except for maybe seconds and then he was on to the next subject in his mind and not listening.

And often his opinions are crazy! I mean weird! But today he listened to me! He weighed what I was saying and actually making intelligent replies.

The whole day was one big Silver Lining.

We even laughed.

All in all, here I am writing this and writing other stuff and feeling like staying up instead of collapsing by nine o’clock.

I would say I had a very blessed day.

And I truly am blessed.
Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: And now I have four days off!
.
photograph by B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

