Day 161 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Today I Am Grateful for (the show) Friends

FRIENDS THE THE POST

Joey: Hey, Ross, I got a science question: If the homo sapiens were, in fact, HOMO sapiens…is that why they’re extinct?”
Ross: Joey, homo sapiens are PEOPLE.
Joey: Hey, I’m not judgin’!

Today I am grateful for something as simple as the television show Friends.

I never watched it when it was on but I’ve caught it on Netflix streaming, and I am loving it. I have binge watched it here and there. It makes me laugh. It makes me smile. It makes me cry (but in a good way–mostly).

Laughter and fun are important, especially in a time where one is depressed. Laughter heals. It relaxes the body, decreases stress hormones, increases immune cells and infection-fighting antibodies and improves resistance to disease. It triggers the release of endorphins, our natural “feel-good” chemicals which aids with overall sense of well-being and can even help relieve pain as well. Laughter protects the heart by improving the function of blood vessels and blood flow, helping protect against a heart attack and other cardiovascular problems. And that’s just the beginning.

Laughing helps me be a happy person. A better person.

It amazes me how many sad and dark people spend all their time listening to morbid music, reading books and stories that are sad and depressing, watch movies and shows where everyone dies–and then wonders why they feel bad all the time. They tell me they involve themselves with stuff like this because that is real and it prepares them for the “real” and the bad in life.

I disagree. I think it attracts it. I think what we think about and what we surround ourselves with is drawn to us like a magnet to steel. And when we think about happy things we draw that to us as well.

I was reading about a lady who was diagnosed with cancer and she had very little chance of living. So she and her husband talked about it and agreed and she quit her job and did nothing but things that made her happy. They went on trips. She read happily-ever-after books. They watched endless streams of comedies and stand-up comics. She did anything that she loved to do. And she lived. She beat the cancer. Coincidence? I don’t think so.

I’ve had trouble lately but I am defeating them one by one, step by step, and a big part of that has been watching Friends. Involving myself in the lives of Rachel, Monica, Phoebe, Joey, Chandler and Ross. They make me happy.

And being happy attracts more happy. It’s the truth. That’s all there is to it.

That’s my advice. Unhappy? Depressed? Do things that make you happy. Too depressed to get up off the couch? Then watch something that makes you laugh. Because laughter really is the best medicine.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: So what are your favorite Friends quotes?

friends-couch-final

6 thoughts on “Day 161 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Today I Am Grateful for (the show) Friends

  1. “No, you just rolled over the juice box!” The episode where Ross and Rachel had sex in the museum. Ross says this when Rachel seems to be comforting him after what she thinks is premature ejaculation. It was extremely well played, and for its time, it was a pretty racy inuendo. It made me laugh and laugh!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joey: All right, Rach. The big question is, “does he like you?” All right? Because if he doesn’t like you, this is all a moo point.
    Rachel: Huh. A moo point?
    Joey: Yeah, it’s like a cow’s opinion. It just doesn’t matter. It’s moo.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

