Day 153 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ So Grateful for my Neighbor Charles Williams

“The only way that we can live, is if we grow. The only way that we can grow is if we change. The only way that we can change is if we learn. The only way we can learn is if we are exposed. And the only way that we can become exposed is if we throw ourselves out into the open. Do it. Throw yourself.”
~~ C. JoyBell C.

Charles, a good friend and neighbor, has recently had a minor stroke.

My goodness, if that was a minor stroke, I can not imagine of having a major stroke.

Charles is an amazing, powerful, spiritually positive, strong, beautiful man. I look up to him. He had been friend, counselor and guide. He is quite a bit older than me and has always been able to run circles around me.

He inspires me.

Now he has had this stroke. It affected the left side of his body and he is left handed. I didn’t understand just what strokes were, and still don’t, but I understand more now. I thought it was some kind of failure with the body and now I am learning that the brain is having to re-learn to work together again. How frustrating that would be. How infuriating!

This friend is very independent and likes to get up and go where he wants and when he wants. He gardens. He plays tennis. He’s incredible.

And now he can’t. I know how frustrating it was for me when I got the new knees and had weeks where I couldn’t get up and down the stairs by myself or to the bathroom or sometimes even out of bed. What this man is going through is worse.

And yet he, even though I know he is very very frustrated (and maybe even a little angry?) is still positive! Is still inspiring! Still making posts on his Facebook that say things like….

WORD FOR TODAY: ACCEPT!

or…

JUST FOT TODAY: I will live through this day only.. I will NOT try to solve all of my problems at once! I will be happy. I will accept what is and face reality. I will be kind to all i encounter. I WILL refrain from improving anyone but me. IWILL correct those things I can and accept those I cannot. JUST FOR TODAY! Difficult but doable. BLESSINGS TO ALL.

Wow….

I look at posts like that and I look at my hands–both my hands–typing along at a merry clip right now and all I can think of once again is….

Wow. There is so much I take for granted. I am typing. Fast, No problems. It takes my neighbor a long time to post what he posts and even in all he is going through, he inspires me!

Dear Charles: I cannot imagine what you are going through. But know that I love you. You inspire me. Your very life blesses mine and so many others.

Dear Universe. Thank you so much for this friend. And I pray that Charles heals quickly and recovers fully and soon running circles around me once again. I see it. I see it clearly.

And so it is!
Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

