Day 144 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ SO Grateful for Spell Check!

“I think I understand what military fame is; to be killed on the field of battle and have your name misspelled in the newspapers.”
~~ William Tecumseh Sherman

I would be lost without spell check! OMGosh! Spell check is the bomb!

Not only in my writing but in emails and resumes and letters of complaint and letters of congratulation and happy notes to my mom.

Spell check helps me make sure I don’t embarrasse myself. I mean to I really want to send resumes to the handful of places that I really might like to work part time–say Barns and Noble–and have mispellings? Of course not!

Do I want to submitt a manuscript and have words on the very first page spelled wrong? Especially if I was submitting to someone new? Oh no! That’s my first impression and as a professional writer, that first impression is very important.

How about if I have had some kind of unpleasant experiance in a restaurant or store or event? If I write a polite email to express my feelings, people (even unconsciously) are going to pay more attention to what I have to say if my words and grammar are correct.

What if I am writing to someone I deeply respect–a writer, singer, performer, teacher. Aren’t I going to want my words spelled right?

It confuses me that in this day and age, when someone sends me an email, why there could possibly be a misspelled word! They had to see that jagged red line. All one has to do is right-click on it and in all probability there will be a suggestion for the proper spelling. There are times I can’t read something with misspellings because I don’t understand what they were trying to tell me.

I also think correct spelling is a sign of respect between me and the person I am communicating with,

I like spell check because it has actually improved my spelling. Seeing that word with the jagged line under it over and over and over tells me what word I am consistantly misspelling and getting me to the point where I can finally spell it correctly. Because of course there will be those time where I am handwriting and don’t have spell check.

Today I can say with all happiness and confidance that spell check has changed my life, and done so for the better. I can’t even remember what life was like without it–how I did anything without it. It was a nightmare. Like writing manuscripts with a typewriter. *shudder* How did I do anything that way?

So yes, it’s another small thing.

Except that it isn’t.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

