Day 140 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for the Rain


“Rainy days should be spent at home with a cup of tea and a good book.”
~~ Bill Watterson

It’s been a chilly couple of days in the fifties and I might have wished for better weather. Had a bunch of stuff to plant and only got some of it done. Plus I am still feeling punky and I have to go back to work tomorrow–there is no other way. And then there has been the rain. Rain rain rain rain rain! Couldn’t it have rained on a work day instead of the days I was off?

On the other hand, boy is this rain going to pay off! Not only has my garden been gorgeous this year, it’s only going to be more so. I have had more flowers than I have in years and a huge come back and so much that has almost completely died off. It’s got to be good for the farmers too. And at least I’m not camping in it!

How can I complain about rain when there is a lot of this country alone that desperately needs rain.

I was reading in the news (yes, I actually read the news!) that the US drought monitory released an update this April that 67 percent of Californians is in the top two levels of drought called extreme. I read a post on Facebook that people are being paid to replace their lawns with rock gardens and such!

So while I missed my porch days this week of sitting and enjoying the sun, I know that there will be even more green in the days to come! Besides, as Bill Watterson (of Calvin and Hobbes fame) said, “Rainy days should be spent at home with a cup of tea and a good book.” And guess what I did today! I bought some good books! I know because I am reading one of them!

In the meantime I’ll do a little praying for California. at least there has been some scattered precipitation in the past week or so.

So today I am grateful for rain and plenty of water. It’s another of those things I just take for granted. And it’s time to stop taking things for granted!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

.
photgraph by B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

