Day 134 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for Marie Sexton

“Heroes are never perfect, but they’re brave, they’re authentic, they’re courageous, determined, discreet, and they’ve got grit.
~~ Wade Davis

You know…when you are a new writer and you send out an email to one of your favorite authors–a person who has inspired you to write–and they write back…wow! It’s a thrill!

And when you meet them in person and you blab on an on and on and on…and they don’t run for the hills and are very polite and continue to talk to you….wow…I am tearing up even typing this…then that is a pretty big thrill too!

Some years ago I met a hero of mine–one of the most award winning authors of all–Connie Willis–and she told me that authors don’t want to hear about the story you didn’t like….and then Ms Willis was still willing to talk to me about the only story of hers I didn’t like.

And so when Marie Sexton was even willing to talk to me about the character of hers I didn’t like then I knew I had met someone special.

And as these five years have passed and I have gained a fans of my own–fans who are going to help me quit my Evil Day Job–and she still treats me so kindly every time we meet…even though now she is a Superstar…then…Wow!

Then you know you have met a truly awesome human being.

Marie Sexton! Thank you! Thank you for being YOU! Thank you for being kind to me always. Thank you for giving me a drink ticket in Albuquerque when I wanted another drink and couldn’t afford it because just the hotel was killing my budget…and for letting me tell you why I didn’t like a character you obviously loved (especially after Connie Willis told me that authors don’t want to hear about what you didn’t like)….

Thank you thank you thank you!

I was looking up the word “Class” in both the dictionary and Wikipedia and guess what? There was a picture of Marie Sexton right next to the word.

Today I am grateful for someone who took that time to talk to me and be kind to me and to inspire be both through her writing and her very kindness!

Marie Sexton!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: Marie’s books through Dreamspinner Press are 35% off today! Check her out! You will NOT regret it! And you can find her righ t here: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/AuthorArcade/marie-sexton

2 thoughts on “Day 134 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for Marie Sexton

  1. Oh, thank you so much! You are too sweet. I don’t think of myself as a superstar, but you always make me feel like one. I really appreciate it. ((big hugs)) Thanks again! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

