Day 131 or 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for My Garden


“If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.”
~~ Marcus Tullius Cicero

“I wake up some mornings and sit and have my coffee and look out at my beautiful garden, and I go, ‘Remember how good this is. Because you can lose it.”
~~ Jim Carrey

It’s my Mom’s fault that it really got going. My ex dug the yard up and put in all these boards and dividers but it was my amazing mother that turned it into a garden. She helped me pick the plants and then I learned more on my own. What it meant was that as one group finishes flowering, something else takes its place. It’s really nice

First it was crocus and miniature iris and hyacinth. And all my different shapes and sizes of daffodils! Oh! And forsythia! I love my forsythia! The bush has grown to an impressive size and I love the long, long branches. They are covered in bright yellow in the spring and every time I see I am seized with happiness

Then comes the Star of Bethlehem, this profusion of low lying white flowers that look just like stars. Then came the Bleeding Heart. That made me happy. I’ve planted several over the years and they didn’t do much and didn’t come back. But finally I found just the right spot last year and it came back covered in heart-shaped flowers.

Right now it’s the iris and the peonies that are in full bloom. But there is still plenty of roses. And I love the spiderwort which is a gorgeous purple flower–and purple is my favorite. And a purplish geranium. So pretty. And small Jacob’s Ladder that came back from last year. I wasn’t sure it would but that means it should start spreading this year.

There are a tone of lilies getting ready. No buds yet but they’re coming.

The hostas are filling in. I’ve picked a whole lot of varieties, all different shapes and sizes. It used to be practically a prize-winning hosta garden but then there was that drought a few years ago and I wasn’t paying attention and I lost almost the whole garden. Now we’ve put in a ground cover that you can’t kill and it’s helping choke out the weeds, but not the hostas which are coming up through it all. It’s so lush.

But it’s coming back and that is due in great part to my neighbors Charles and Rob. My husband was so sweet–he paid them to come down last year (or was it the year before?) and clean it up from one end to the other. That’s when I couldn’t down there at all due to knee surgeries. It still isn’t a blast. They don’t explain that it can be years before you can really get on your knees again. But I do much better.

I love to sit out there for hours and just look at all my flowers. So lovely. It’s my connection to God.

So I am thankful for my lovely garden and all those who have helped breath it into life (including my ex). This is my time of year. Spring and summer, the warm and sunny months. Not a big fan of Autumn (although there is a gorgeous purple Michaelmas Daisy that grows only that time of year) or winter. But one thing I take great comfort in…. I know that I wouldn’t have this kind of garden without the winter. These types of plants are dependant on that time to sleep and ready itself to explode back into life.

And that makes me happy. And it reminds me that no matter how cold life might become, the warmth and the spring always return.

And that’s pretty wonderful.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

20150315_113344
Miniture Iris

20150315_113509
Crocus

20150402_084902
Daffodils

20150507_185024
Peonie

20150510_093301
Hostas

20150507_185152
Iris

20150510_093348
Clematis

20150510_093406
Geranium

20150510_093312
Roses

2 thoughts on “Day 131 or 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for My Garden

  1. The kiss of the sun for pardon
    The song of the birds for mirth
    One is nearer God’s Heart in a garden
    Than anywhere else on earth.

    – Dorothy Frances Gurney (1858 – 1932)

    Like

Leave a Reply

