Day 127 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Heading Home


“After all,” Anne had said to Marilla once, “I believe the nicest and sweetest days are not those on which anything very splendid or wonderful or exciting happens but just those that bring simple little pleasures, following one another softly, like pearls slipping off a string.”
~~ L.M. Montgomery

.
So I’ll be heading home today and it’s funny how much I don’t want to go–but I do want to get home as well….

The thing is that I am going to enjoy coming to Brookfield now. And I will a lot more when the plumbing is finally really fixed.

It turns out when the bank took the house from the last owner it was in the winter and all the pipes in the house were full. They didn’t empty the pipes. And so once there was no one there, the pipes burst in dozens of places. So every time R thought he had everything fixed, he’d turn the water on and there would be another huge leak. So disheartening….

But he is so happy to have his house back he is keeping his head up. It’s inspiring how he isn’t letting it get him down. We’re closer. We actually got to take a shower last night (finally). Toilets are still the pour-a-bucket-of-water-in to get it to flush…

But we’re getting closer and closer!

Which all reminds me of a post I made way at the beginning of my 365 Days of Silver. An entry about how I’m grateful for drinking water. But not just drinking water. But for the fact that I have access to water at all. It’s one of those many things I don’t think about unless I don’t have it.

And when it comes to access to water, I am a Princess. I’ll go camping for two weeks. I’ll camp in a tent. But I must have access to a real toilet and a shower.

So it will be nice to be back in Kansas City and able to take a shower or bath whenever I want and to be able to flush the toilet!

But I am going to miss the lackadaisical way life has been these past five or six days. No need to be anywhere at any time. Time out of time. I like it. I like it a lot.

So I am very grateful for this past six days. And so much time with my husband. What a blessing!

I look forward to coming back!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

.
sign by image chef
http://www.imagechef.com/c/85il/Signs

Leave a Reply

