Day 126 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ So Grateful for Family

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA“I sustain myself with the love of family.”
~~ Maya Angelou

It is true the family in many ways is the one you choose. But in my case I am so grateful that my family of blood and my family of marriage (not even counting the family I choose) is wonderful.

A lot of people don’t have that. Being gay and knowing so many gay people, I know a lot who have been rejected by those people who should be there for them no matter what.

Family is a reason why I stayed with my ex so for very long. His family was wonderful. Incredible. Loving. Accepting. Kind. They were my family. I didn’t want to lose them. Finally for my soul’s sake I had to leave him. And though we tried to hold on, they really had to chose him. Of course they did. That is right and good.

Luckily my family of blood is pretty amazing. My Dad was amazing. Incredible. The best ever. We had a few shaky years in my teens but that is pretty standard. My mother is amazing. I love her with all my heart and she is so loving and supportive. My brother? We get along better because he is thousands of miles away. but we love each other very much. His daughter is awesome! She and I are kindred souls.

And then there is my husband’s family. I never dreamed it would happen twice. That a gay man’s family could love me and accept me so much. His grandmother was the one they were really worried about. I just charmed the heck out of her the day we met and it’s been cake ever since. His mother I am crazy about. I envy how she and R are friends. I been like buddies. They can talk about anything! R’s uncle is crazy and was pretty much a teller of “fag” jokes. Until R came out. Then he stopped. I know he was nervous as hell when he met me. It went great though. I told lots of jokes. Laughter took care of that. And his son is so cool!

And his aunt? OMGosh! Talk about kindred souls! And year before last we went to her place in California for Thanksgiving (and more) and she and her fantastic husband paid for our train and hotel room so we could go to San Francisco for a couple of days and R’s cousin paid for our tour bus to hop on and off all day in The City. And I won’t even talk about her daughter. Let’s just say….kindred!

Lot of love and support.

We had lunch with R’s mom and aunt (she is visiting from California) yesterday and it’s dinner tonight.

Tonight it’s dinner at grandmas.

I am so lucky to have so much love around me!

And know I don’t take it for granted! I know how fortunate I am!

Gratitude, gratitude, gratitude!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

.
photo, Frame 15, by dorne at morgueFile

Leave a Reply

