Day 121 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for A Fun Evening

age-of-ultron-10-things-that-will-make-you-cry-in-avengers-age-of-ultron

If Shakespeare and Michelangelo were alive today, and if they decided to collaborate on a comic, Shakespeare would write the script and Michelangelo would draw it. How could anybody say that this wouldn’t be as worthwhile an artform as anything on earth?
~~ Stan Lee

So tonight I am going to go see The Avengers; Age of Ultron and I couldn’t be more excited. For lots of reasons.

When I was in Junior High School I got my first guy crush. It was math class. He was a new student. One of those ones that comes in during the middle of the school year and some official brings him into class and everyone is introduced to him and told to be nice to him.

My heart started pounding.

I was so naive that it took me years to figure out what was going on but it was all the same. I was in love. Everything he did, I wanted to do.

And Hunter liked comic books. So I liked comic books. But soon I found out I really did like comic books and one of my favorites was The Avengers.

I read them years after Hunter and I parted ways (right after I told him I was in love with him and he told me to leave–but that is another story).

I loved the stories. I loved the costumes. I loved the ever changing roster.

First it was Iron Man, Thor, the Hulk, Ant Man and the Wasp. By about the fourth issue Captain America joined (it was the Avengers who found him frozen in the ice). The Hulk left, And the pattern was set for an ever changing guard. Scarlet Witch, Quicksilver, the Vision, Hawkeye, the Beast, Ms Marvel, Black Panther, Hellcat, Falcon, Wonder Man, Tigra, Captain Marvel, Mockingbird, Spider-Man and so many others!

I loved them. I loved them for years and years.

Somewhere along the line the Marvel Universe just got too complicated. There were multiple books and you had to read them all and they crossed over into the individual members books and the comics got more and more expensive and there I was splitting up with my first husband and wondering how I would keep the electricity on and something had to go….

And it was comic books.

But then Marvel started making movies, and from the very first one (Iron Man–a huge favorite of mine) they were true to the legends and spirits of my younger years and I love each and every one.

Tonight after work I am seeing the new Marvel movie, The Avengers; Age of Ultron. It will introduce some of my very favorite Avengers, including Scarlet Witch and the Vision.

It’s going to be an easy day. Each passing hour only bringing me closer to a new dream.

I will have to watch it at least one more time in the theater. The movies are SO full that I am often overwhelmed in everything and have to come back to really get the richness of everything that is going on. And of course tonight Joss Whedon is a part of it! Hurray!

What this means is that tonight I am going to have fun! And having fun is what life should be all about.

So bring on the bad guys at work. I can defeat them all! Tonight I see my heroes!

Excelsior!
B.G. Thomas

avengerssss

Leave a Reply

