Day 109 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ So Grateful for My Sense of Smell

You’re only here for a short visit. Don’t hurry, don’t worry. And be sure to smell the flowers along the way.
~~ Walter Hagen

My poor mother had some kind of adverse reaction to anesthesia some twenty years ago and she had very little sense of smell or taste. Every now and then I discover something I so want her to try (a food, a new coffee) and then suddenly remember she won’t be able to appreciate it.

She can get salt, some sweetness (but not a full appreciation of whatever the food is) and her mouth gets hot if she has something spicy. She told me the other day she was surprised when she tasted celery and it was the first time in years. She really appreciated that celery.

Imagine. Celery!

This is yet another case of how I need to remember to be grateful for things that are every day and so easily taken for granted. Taste, yes. But recently it is my sense of smell.

Today the house is filled with the wonderful aromas of chicken vindaloo which I’ve had slow-cooking for hours…. Oh my! My mouth is watering!

A few days ago I was loving the smell of my lilac bush and I even pulled a spray of the flowers down and drove around with it in the front seat. Oh, so wonderful!

My neighbor’s wisteria is blooming and I went down there and got on my tiptoes and just sucked the scent deep into my lungs.

When I arrive at my favorite coffee shop, sometimes I don’t even have to get out of the car and I can already smell the wonderful aromas of roasting coffee!

There are scented oils that I dearly love, especially lavender and amber. Oh, I am just sighing as I type these words.

Our sense of smell so enriches our life. What smells do you like? What are your favorites? Do yourself a favor. This week wear it or surround yourself in that scent and luxuriate in it!

A sense of smell is such a wonderful and fine gift! I for one chose to be grateful for it! And how!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

..
photograph by me ~~ Chicken Vindaloo bubbling away!

Leave a Reply

