Day 107 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for a New Situation

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.”
~~ Lao Tzu

So my supervisor is on vacation. I was trying not to dread it. Trying because I knew the possibilities where high that the Evil Team Lead would make life a living hell for me this week.

But I reminded myself over and over as the week approached that I would not live in a Fantasy World. I would live in Reality. Because even if the odds were stacked against me, there was always a chance that things would be okay. I would live in Reality!

I did not know what was going to happen and I would not make any of those days worse by imaging the worst.

Then something peculiar happened….

My co-workers in my department have not been overly friendly with me the last year or so….

But this week?

Something has happened.

All they are talking about is the ETL and how much they dislike him. They seek me out for company. We have talked like we haven’t in a long time. We’ve laughed so much I get to coughing. It has been a good week.

And every time the ETL pulls something, it has only made them dislike him more, and like me more. One lady, who is always sweet and never says a bad thing about anything or anyone, has said she has “had it up to here with him!” She has flat out told me that she sees very clearly now that he does harass me and that he hates me and that I have had every reason to say feel picked on and that she is going to talk to our supervisor about him when she gets back from her vacation!

I think it is sad that this has happened to him. I don’t hate him. If I don’t hate my ex for all he did to me, why would I waste energy hating my ETL?

I’ve said variations of this before and will say it for years to come….

Hating someone is like taking poison and expecting THEM to die.

Sad that my situation had to get better because his is worse. There is no need.

But that’s the way of life. Every religion and spiritual practice on the planet has the equivalent ruling….

Whatever you put out comes back to you…equal measure, or double, or three-fold, or a hundred times.

So I will do my best not even to wish him harm. Hopefully he can learn the same. Sadly, I don’t think he ever will.

In the meantime, even if it’s only for a week, I am deeply grateful for this change in my situation!

And I wish to all people this same kind of treasure!

Namasté
B.G. Thomas

.

photo by Johngard at morgueFile

Leave a Reply

