Day 102 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ So Grateful for Editors

“There Are Two Typos Of People In This World: Those Who Can Edit And Those Who Can’t”
― Jarod Kintz

It never ceases to amaze me that I can write a story, read it several times, and still I can make some colossal boner!

Like I had a character who in the early chapters of the book had a sister and remembers when he was a kid he loved to ride her pink bike, and then at the end of the book was an only child.

Or how I will start a couple making love at the house of one character’s house, and they finish at the other character’s apartment!

whe
Now only that, but with each round of edits on each book, I become a better and better writer.

Today it’s final edits on my Daily Dose story, “Until I Found You” (which previously had a title that just wouldn’t work–thank you editors for that too!). I was startled that there were still mistakes being caught!

And then there’s Ann Byassee. She gets me. She understands why I chose a word that might not be typical. She understands my love affair with the parenthetical phrase. She understands weird grammatical choices and why I might leave out a comma or put one in an even weirder place. I have grown to trust her so much that she in many ways has carte blanch to make changes without me even looking and knows when I need to look and make a judgement.

She has become my master polisher, confidant and even friend–and we never have to worry ever that our friendship will upset our professional relationship. And I recently got to meet her face to face after several years of knowing each other. We loved each other! HURRAY!

Thank you thank you thank you thank you!

Today I am grateful (and more than just today) to editors. I couldn’t really tell my tales without them.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas
.
.
photograph by jppi from morgueFile

Leave a Reply

