Day 93 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Today I Am Grateful for an Eight Hour Work Schedule!

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”
~~ J.R.R. Tolkien

I am digging this new temporary schedule! Eight hours! Omgosh! Eight hours!

And to think there was a huge part of my life where I thought that eight hours would never end! Oh, I laugh! Watching the clock. At lunch time thinking, “Oh no! There are still four hours left!”

Now that I’ve been working 12-shifts for closing in on nine years? Eight hours are wonderful.

And another thing that I find simply amazing.

It used to be that when I work eight hours shift I was just “too tired” when I got home to write. Oh my gosh! Pity me and gnashing of teeth and fainting on the chaise longue.

Now? Now I get home and get to work and write until eleven or midnight and then go to bed and still get at least seven hours of sleep and have time to write my blog in the morning and make a stop or two before I go to work!

Oh! Oh, I was spoiled! I am laughing so hard right now there are tears in my eyes.

Team leader at work told me not to get used to it. It wasn’t going to last. Another week, two at most, and would be back on the old schedule.

This is what I said.

There is only the now. Nothing lasts forever. I am enjoying and appreciating and so grateful for this now.

And the third week of April? My birthday week? When she is on a cruise with my supervisors and the Evil Team Leader is in charge?

Nothing lasts forever. Not the good and not the bad. Our suffering is caused by the fact that we grasp desperately to what we love and push away what we hate instead of just appreciating the good and acknowledging the bad will pass–just like it always always always does. The tooth pulled, the knee replaced, the gallbladder removed, physical therapy…. The painful passes and good always comes back.

Today I am grateful for an eight hour schedule!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

.

photo by DuBoix from morgueFile

Leave a Reply

