Day 90 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Am Grateful For Legal Transportation!

11024789_813905202032647_194441222818244982_n

“When it comes to life the critical thing is whether you take things for granted or take them with gratitude.”
~~ Gilbert K. Chesterton

So yesterday my husband headed out to the inspection place and–YES!!–the car finally passed! The problem was a blinker. I was in a little fender bender quite awhile back and the blinker worked, but the casing was broken. The problem is that they don’t make it anymore. So last week we went all over town to different salvage yards and still couldn’t find the part! So R found something he thought might work and then spent two sessions working and cutting and drilling and got it to work so the car passed! Hurray!

This came as quite relief because…well, wait….

So then we went and paid the property taxes (which wasn’t much) and then to the licence place and got the sticker and now…the car is legal!

And why is that a relief? Well, because April 1st is when it needed to be legal by. Absolutely.

April 1st is the beginning of the Dreaded Overtime and this one is going to be weird for me. Since my place of employment has decided to honor the doctor’s orders for no overtime, they’ve done something a little surprising. Instead of having me just work my regular schedule, I will be working five days a week–but instead of 12-hour days, I’ll be working 8-hour days. I don’t have to be in until 9:30.

That means I can’t go into work with my husband like I usually do during overtime. I’ll have to drive. Which is fine, but the car would have been illegal and asking for tickets and Kansas City does seem to pull you over for expired tags–even when it’s only a few days.

So now I can feel safe and free to head to work (and even a friend’s house) and not worry!

Hurray!

I am a happy man and who do I owe it to? Why only the best husband in the world. He may not be perfect. But he’s perfect for me!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

