Day 88 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Am Grateful Today That I Am Alive

“I’m thankful to be breathing, on this side of the grass. Whatever comes, comes.”
~~ Ron Perlman

“I wake up every day and I think, ‘I’m breathing! It’s a good day.'”
~~ Eve Ensler

Had a scary morning. I woke up very early having what must have been something akin to an asthma attack. I don’t have asthma, but I’ve seen a few attacks in my life and that’s what it was like.

I think I must have had acid reflux? from the taste in my mouth and the swallowing I had to do where I felt like I was about to drown and then the burning burning burning throat! And then I tried to breathe….

…and I couldn’t.

I tried and tried again and my throat was burning and it closed up tight and I couldn’t get a breath! I was making these huge heaving gasps and no air was getting down into my lungs. I shook my husband awake. I was terrified. It was rather horrible. Finally, just as spots were forming in front of my eyes, I got one teeny-tiny breath. Then more empty awful gasps…and another teeny tiny breath.

It took a full five minutes before from beginning till the end and it doesn’t sound like much but believe it was.

I got back to sleep finally and it was a fretful sleep. I went to church and came home and slept for close to three hours….

I still feel funny. Not at my best by any means.

But it reminds me! I am alive! Not only did I not die (which I don’t know if that was going to happen anyway) but that I am alive. Alive! That I have life. That I have a life. I have air to breath and a home to breath in and a husband who loves me and was there for me and a sweet little dog (who was freaking out) and friends and a quite little party to go to tonight to watch the season finale of The Walking Dead (ironic, huh?).

Talk about something taking something every-day for granted.

Air.

Trust me, you know when you don’t have it.

Today I am grateful, truly deeply grateful, to be breathing….

I hope you are too.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Photo by dave from morgueFiles

Leave a Reply

