Day 84 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for a Date with My Daughter Tonight

“To be the father of growing daughters is to understand something of what Yeats evokes with his imperishable phrase ‘terrible beauty.’ Nothing can make one so happily exhilarated or so frightened: it’s a solid lesson in the limitations of self to realize that your heart is running around inside someone else’s body.”
~~ Christopher Hitchens

So I am going to spend some cool quality time with my daughter tonight! I’m really looking forward to it.

She is going to pick me up around 5:30 or 6:00 and we are going to get something quick and easy to eat and then head over to the Living Room Theatre to see the play Equus.

It looks like it is going to be amazing. My friend Paul Burns, a most excellent actor, plays one of the parts.

According to an article I found on line, Shaffer was inspired to write the play Equus after reading a news account of a stable boy who inexplicably blinded the horses in his care. From that premise, Shaffer wrote a drama that mixes realism with symbolic imagery and that features, among other things, actors playing horses.

The article also says that, Among the actors who appeared in the long-running show were Peter Firth, Anthony Hopkins and Richard Burton. Burton and Firth starred in the 1977 film adaptation. And Richard Griffiths and Daniel Radcliffe starred in a 2007 London revival that came to Broadway the following year.

I am really looking forward to spending time with my daughter and she also has good news! She enrolled in school. At thirty, she has decided to do something exciting and worthwhile with her life. This is a school where she will learn to be some kind of medical assistant. I’ll get the full skinny tonight, but it is ten months, she qualified for a grant and two loans and will learn everything from billing to phlebotomy!

How wonderful is that?

I am so grateful that tonight I will be spending quality time with my daughter and excited that she is starting a whole new chapter of her life! What could be better than that?

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Equus At TLR from Jetpack Pictures on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

