Day 80 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Grateful for a Saint Patrick’s Celebration

file0001763118906 2

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind always be at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.
~~ Irish Blessing

So tonight is St. Paddy’s Day for me! And for some very wonderful friends. I was home that day and I could have gone out. Kansas City has one of the biggest St. Patrick’s Day parades in the country believe it or not. A lot of Irish people settled here. New York’s is bigger and at one point we were #2. Not sure where we rank right now and I really don’t care enough to google it! LOL! The point is…fun.

So we are headed to my friend Vasha’s and maybe I will talk her handsome boyfriend into a short motorcycle ride. He’s got one almost exactly like Cedar and Scott’s from my book Summer Lover.

There will be corn beef and cabbage (we are bringing that) and snacks and treats and whiskey. With an “e.” I discovered while researching for a story that the Irish spell whiskey with an E while the United States doesn’t. The word ‘whiskey’ (or whisky) comes from the Gaelic uisce beatha, meaning water of life.

I found that it’s an aquired taste, and apparently (as with coffee) I must be a bit of a snob because the more expensive it is, the more likely that I will actually like it.

Vasha has a tasting event and a number of people bring various bottles and I know i will wind up really liking one of them!

But most of all it will be time with friends I just don’t see as often as I used to. Between work, overtime, and writing I don’t see my friends as much as I used to. I will treasure tonight!

Éirinn go Brách,
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

