Day 78 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Am Grateful for Steve Grand and His Brave Music

15816_807169529372881_3632959168414221860_n 2

Be my All-American boy tonight
Where everyday’s the 4th of July
And its alright, alright
And we can keep this up till the morning light
And you can hold me deep in your eyes
~~ Steve Grand

I am so happy! Last night I got home from work to find I had finally gotten my autographed Steve Grand CD! And it was well worth the wait!

This is from Steve’s Wiki page:

Steve Grand (born February 28, 1990) is an American musician and singer-songwriter from Lemont, Illinois, a Chicago suburb. He became an overnight Internet celebrity…. The music video of his first hit “All-American Boy” went viral on YouTube in less than a week in July 2013. This attention landed Grand on Good Morning America, CNN and other national media. Buzzfeed ranked the video on its list of the “24 Most Brilliant Music Videos from 2013”, and Out magazine named Grand to its annual “Out 100” list of the year’s most compelling LGBT people. In addition to being a musician, Grand has become an active figure in the LGBT equality movement. He is releasing his debut album titled All-American Boy financed by a successful Kickstarter public funding campaign. His album was the third most-funded music project in Kickstarter’s history – and the most-funded music Kickstarter among musicians who have never been affiliated with a major record label.

He’s not C&W at all (or I wouldn’t care for his music!). He is amazing! And I contributed to his Kickstarter campaign and so I got my autographed copy of his CD last night.

It truly is a wonderful record. Every song seems to be better than the last. And sexy! Oh my!

    I got you out on the water, soaking wet
    Got that white t-shirt clinging to your chest
    Yeah, the sun’s going down, but it ain’t gone yet
    We can dry off a little later on
    ‘Cus we’re having a little too much fun
    Being soaking wet.

And what really blows me away and makes me cry happy tears and makes me feel like I’ve woken up in the Twilight Zone is listening to this man sing loves songs to another man! At last no interpreting the lyrics in my head to re-imagine the songs. This is a man telling gay men’s stories and feelings and heart!

    Stay with me, we don’t never have to leave
    You my southern king, we live it for the daydreams.

I can’t get enough of it! Makes me happy! The times are changing and it is brave men and women like Steve Grand (and Chely Wright, Shane McAnally, Patrick Haggerty and many more!) who are helping make a world where it doesn’t have to be a scary thing to be openly GLBT.

And of course his music speaks across boarders and genders and sexual identity. It speaks–it sings–to the heart!

    Of all the girls and boys to look my way
    Ain’t no body ever hit me this way
    So won’t you come back with me
    And lay with me a while
    I’m gonna wrestle you out of them clothes
    Leave that beautiful body exposed
    And you can have my heart and my soul and my body
    Oh be mine

Who hasn’t felt that?

Thank you Steve! Thank you for being you and passing on your message that “Nothing that you are is wrong. You are exactly who you were meant to be.”

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: His album’s official release date is 3/23. You can pre-order in on Amazon and I-tunes and other places. Also, you can order autographed copies at shop.stevegrand.com!

    91lHZ-tGDmL._SY450_

    #dreamer #AllAmericanBoy #SteveGrand #Grandfam

    1003495_614505011915503_1831224906_n

One thought on “Day 78 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Am Grateful for Steve Grand and His Brave Music

Leave a Reply

