Day 72 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Today I Am Grateful for Today

“Everybody’s working for the weekend
Everybody wants a new romance.”
~~ Loverboy

So yesterday I was asking my manager how he was doing and he said, “Okay, it’s Thursday….”

Then today I asked him the same thing and he said, “Pretty good! It’s Friday!”

And I couldn’t help but think how sad that was. And to think about how much of my life was the same. Living for the weekend….

Not that I’m not thrilled to get out of that place myself. But to wish my life away? Because when we live for the weekend, that’s just what we’re doing.

In the weeks before my Florida working vacation I was very clear every day to not wish away the days until it came time to go. Because life is filled with possibilities. Filled with unexpected pleasures. Just waiting to giving us some untold blessing. And if we wish time away, who knows what we’ll miss in the process?

We only have so many days in our lives. Can we afford to lose one?

According to USA Today, the average life expectancy in the United States is 78.8 years. That means I am over halfway through. Now my grandmother lived to be near 90, but still…. Why live for the weekend? Why not live for the here and now, because that is the only thing that is real.

Look for the blessings!

Every single day has something in store for me. All I have to do is believe. Know it is true.

And I walk with eyes wide open, looking for the good. Looking for the Now. Looking for the blessing in this day, this moment, this second.

I will not live for tomorrow.

Today I am blessed to have today!

This is the day the Lord hath made. I will rejoice and be glad in it!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

One thought on “Day 72 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Today I Am Grateful for Today

  1. This is always a challenge. I think these things, too, but have never found my way out of that mindset that focuses on the goal – whatever it happens to be from finishing paying off a car loan, to getting through an unpleasant event, etc – rather than enjoying what there is along the way. I think it is an escape from the unpleasant, but it has a price.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

