Day 64 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Am Grateful for New Experience

“God sends experience to paint men’s portraits.”
~~ Henrey Ward Beecher

EM Lynley and I had so much fun yesterday! We got up very early after talking late into the night and took the hotel shuttle to one of the four parks; Hollywood. I got to go to the Star Wars ride which was much fun. Then we did the movies ride that had all kinds of animatronics (I think that is what it is called) of scenes from famous movies. And then the Tower of Terror! OMGosh! Fun ride! Hold weird Twilight Zone ride complete with Rod Serling talking to us. It finally takes us to the top of this huge tall building and then plummets us several times. So much fun!

Then we took the Disney bus to The Magic Kingdom. We did a lot there including my beloved Tiki Room, The Haunted Mansion (twice–Nessa Warrin joined us), Space Mountain twice (second time for the roller coaster loving Nessa), Big Thunder Mountain Railroad (a cute roller coaster in Nessa’s words!), and more.

Next stop, Monorail to Epcot. We got much more laid back, only did one ride there. We walked and explored and many, many sections representing different countries of the world. While in Norway we had Moroccan food and I had the coriander encrusted lamp. It had gotten dark by the time we were done and everything was so beautiful. Finally we took our one ride, which is this amazing animatronics ride inside the Epcot sphere. It showed the history of man from cavemen painting on the walls of caves to Egypt and papyrus to the printing press and Michelangelo painting the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel and on up to today. I just love it.

Then we came back to our hotel in complete exhaustion, met up with our roommate Angel Martinez and wound up talking and talking until 1:30 in the morning. This last part one just as wonderful as the rest of the day because we were talking about writing and being published and so many things that people at home just sort of look at us like we’re weird when we talk about it.

What a wonderful full first day! I feel so incredibly blessed. I won’t forget any of this for years and now I am ready for my second full day. The workshop for Dreamspinner Press sort of starts tonight, doesn’t really hit until tomorrow so today is relaxation day! Hot tub is calling my day!

Today I am just riding a cushion of gratitude. I am grateful for…..

1) A fabulous day at Disney World
2) My friends EM and Nessa
3) My room mate Angel Martinez
4) Conversation
5) Experience

I know that sometimes opportunity comes knocking. And if I say, “No, that’s too expensive” or a host of other excuses, then I ignore so many rich experiences that can be a part of my life. Today I embrace experience!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

20150304_083628

20150304_115524

Leave a Reply

