Day 57 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Happy For A Bonus!

bonus

“There’s always two ways of looking at things… that seeing what’s positive about a situation is a lot more fun and gets you a lot further than looking for what might be wrong with it.”
~~ D.J. MacHale

So word came round work today. Next month we’re getting a bonus. It’s not huge, but I’ll take it.

It’s funny…there was much grumbling and gnashing of teeth.

“You realize they tax it heavily and we probably won’t even get half of that, right,” said at least a half-dozen people. I’ll admit it, the thought had flashed through my head as well.

But you know, it’s money I didn’t have.

So once again, how should l look at it? I have the choice. I can be pissed at what they’re taking out, or I can be grateful for getting anything at all. Hmmmm….

This is what I believe.

I believe that gratefulness sends out a vibration into the Universe that attracts and draws in more to be grateful for.

A little allegory ; Several years ago my daughter was having a bitch-fit. “Why is it that my dad gets everything he wants–”

(which isn’t really true)

–and I hardly ever get anything?”

My then spouse said something I’ll never forget.

“Let’s say you’ve got fifty dollars. Two friends come to you and they both need twenty-five dollars. Not want it, but need it. So you’ve got it so you give them the money.

“One of your friends turns around and walks off. The other one thanks you profusely and never forgets it. Tells people how awesome you are.

“Then some time later you have twenty-five dollars and your two friends wind up needing twenty-five dollars again.

“Tell me, which one of them are you more likely to give the money to?” he asked.

She rolled her eyes. She saw where this was going. “The first one,” she grudgingly admitted.

“You,” he said, “are the first friend. You never thank anyone for anything. Now which one is your dad?”

She groaned. “The second one.”

“And there you go,” he said.

The whole exchange surprised me. I’d never really thought about how or why magick things happened to me (yet). I was just exceedingly grateful when they did. And right then I saw where lay the rub.

I was sincerely grateful.

I made a vow that day to be more consciously grateful. And my life has been filled with things to be grateful for.

Today l am grateful for my bonus.

Hey, it’s probably going to pay for my day at Disneyworld when I go to Florida next week. Now what could be better than that?

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: I said soemthing good about my ex. There were lots of good things about my ex.

.

photograph by markgraf at morgueFile

Leave a Reply

