Day 54 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Looking Past the Imperfections

“Being happy doesn’t mean everything is perfect. It means you have decided to look beyond the imperfections.”
~ Gerard Way

My life is far from perfect. There are health issues, a job I don’t like, I’ve drifted from two of my closest friends in the world and I don’t really know what happened. Today the writing didn’t go as planned because I am still so damned sleepy. I have good sales but not like what some writers claim. I’ve gained back a third of the weight I lost. My husband is a loner and needs great sections of time alone instead of cuddling with me on the couch and watching a movie.

I could look at this and lots more and sit and mope and complain. I have a history of doing just that. As dark as my ex-husband was, I had plenty of fault in that relationship. I know I’ve reported that I used to sob on Friday after work because I was going to have to go to work on Monday–ignoring completely that I had a whole weekend ahead of me to enjoy!

But you know I am pretty happy. I really am. And when I feel a little shadow of unhappiness, I just remember my favorite things! LOL!

I take joy in little things.

Like last night I went with my friend Cricket to the Screenland Armour theatre where they show movies but also do lots of cool things and this time it was the Oscars! A lot of people dressed up and you are sitting there and it’s really almost like you are there. It was a wonderful show and I was happy with a lot of the winners (not so much Birdman–but I don’t grudge it).

People pooh-pooh the Oscars and I don’t get that. Films are magic and it is so cool to celebrate them and the technical achievements of all those artists. And last night was fun! Neil Patrick Harris was an awesome post and we saw him on stage in his underwear (poking fun at Birdman) and wow! I was impressed! Graham Moore’s acceptance speech was so touching–admitting he had tried to kill himself at 16 and promising that it does get better. I cried. I thrilled at Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything. And when that crowd sang “Glory.” Wow! And speaking of singing, Lady Gaga blew everyone away with her Sound of Music tribute, and proved how talented she is. This guy sitting next to me who had been kind of softly slamming her all evening turned to me slack jawed and admitted he was wrong.

Such a little thing is watching the Oscars. But I did it with a best friend. I got out of my house and got out there with people. I drank some of the most amazing chocolate stout I’ve ever had in my life–delicious! See?

Just being grateful for movies and friends and big screens and ornate theaters and enjoying my taste buds and playing trivia and winning some cool movie merchandise. Fun!

My life is not perfect, but I look past the imperfections to all the perfect little crystal moments all around me.

I hope that you will look for them too!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

PS: I still wouldn’t trade my husband of anything.

Eddie Redmayne
Eddie Redmayne with his best actor Oscar Photograph: Chris Pizzello/Invision

.

.

I did not have permission to use the above photogrpah and mean it only as a tribute to the actor and photographer.

Leave a Reply

