Day 53 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Love the Movies!

“People who like movies have a favorite. People who love movies couldn’t possibly choose.”
~~ Nicole Yatsonsky

“You know what your problem is, it’s that you haven’t seen enough movies – all of life’s riddles are answered in the movies.”
~~ Steve Martin

I love movies. I dearly love the movies.

I have pretty eclectic tastes too! From A Lion in Winter to The Matrix. From Schindler’s List to Airplane! From Seven Years in Tibet to The Silence of the Lambs. From Amélie to Inglourious Basterds. From All About Eve to Some Like It Hot. And from Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind to The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

Movies make me laugh, they make me cry, they make me think, they help me escape, they teach and they help me understand.

As a child, The Wizard of Oz taught me that often all that thought we needed was inside us all along. The Shawshank Redemption showed me to never give up hope, no matter what, and that sometime freedom can be found even behind stone walls. The Color Purple showed all that can be endured and that there can be happy endings–as well as that my favorite color is so wonderful that God gets pissed if you don’t notice it! Brokeback Mountain showed millions of people that love is love no matter what and how culture has harmed so many. And Mama Mia revealed that Pierce Brosnan cannot sing.

I have been blown away by cinematography and craftsmanship like in The Shining, Citizen Kane, The Sound of Music, Gravity, The Life of Pi, Inception, Children of Men and Saving Private Ryan.

There are some wondrous movie quotes!

Contact: I’ve always believed that the world is what we make of it.
A Streetcar Named Desire: I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.
Mommie Dearest: No wire hangers, ever!
Casablanca: Of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world, she walks into mine.
Jerry MaGuire: You had me at “hello.”
Jaws: You’re gonna need a bigger boat.
Cool Hand Luke: What we’ve got here is failure to communicate.
Sunset Blvd: All right, Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up.
Avatar: I see you.
Steel Magnolias: The only thing that separates us from the animals is our ability to accessorize.
Young Frankenstein: He vould have an enormous schwanzstucker.
All About Eve: Fasten your seatbelts. It’s going to be a bumpy night.

…and one that woke me up…

On Golden Pond: Don’t you think that everyone looks back on their childhood with a certain amount of bitterness and regret? It doesn’t have to ruin your life!

And there are so many movies I haven’t seen. I’ve never seen To Kill a Mockingbird, Lawrence of Arabia, Singin’ In the Rain, In the Heat of the Night or The Sting!

Movies change our perception, they change our minds, they speak to us, they help us believe in love, make our hearts pound, overwhelm us, teach us, give us hope, make us laugh out loud.

They can be goofy and sill and profound and deeply moving.

I was hooked on Out of Africa from the beginning when Merly Streep said, “I had a farm in Africa at the foot of the Ngong Hills.” I thrilled when the giant stone rolled down toward Indiana Jones or the gigantic star destroyer sailed on and on an on over my head in Star Wars that first time on the big screen in 1977! I was frightened by what I learned in An Inconvenient Truth. I roared with laughter when Robert Preston all in drag trying to do Julie Andrews big production number in Victor/Victoria. My mouth dropped to the floor when I realized (spoilers!) that was dead in The Sixth Sense and that half of what we had seen in A Beautiful Mind was all in Russell Crowe’s mind. I was on the edge of my seat (!) all through Apollo 13 even though I knew (spoiler!) the crew made it home safe.

I love the movies! And tonight the 87th Academy Awards will present their picks for the finest movie magic and talent of the year. Some people think it’s all pretty silly–but not a few of those people will go out on a snowy day, take off their shirts, paint themselves up and go to a football game. It’s all in what we like, huh?

I am going to the Screenland Armour theater with my friend Cricket to watch the award ceremonies on the big screen. Last year I wore white tails and top hat, this year I’m just too tired for that (and it’s very cold). But it is all a huge blast and there are cocktails and hors d’oeuvres and the place is packed with people who love the movies as much as I do and it is a blast! And since we’re sitting in a theatre and it’s all on that big screen, it almost feels like you’re there.

Personally I would love The Theory of Everything to win best picture and actor (it’s my fav this year) but I would be very happy if Boyhood won picture (wow!). Just not into Birdman even though I won’t be surprised if it wins. There are some great nominees this year and I’ve seen a lot of them (still not seen Selma, Grand Budapest Hotel or Still Alice–arrgh!)

I love the movies, I love pomp and circumstance, I love the Oscars.

And today I am just grateful for every darned bit of it. I mean, it’s hard to be in a grumpy mood when ET makes a bunch of kid’s bicycles sail across the sky in front of a full moon!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

.

photos by clarita, mcconnors and taylorschlades from morgueFiles.

2 thoughts on “Day 53 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Love the Movies!

  1. Please … as fast as you can watch the 5 movies you have not seen! Make the first one To Kill A Mockingbird! Look up the history of the movie Lawrence of Arabia. Wallow in the friendship of Newman & Redford in The Sting … dance with Gene Kelly in Singing In The Rain … and see how far we haven’t come in In The Heat Of The Night. I am amazed you haven’t seen these! Share how you like them. Share your passion in Alaska

    Like

Leave a Reply

