Day 51 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Lisa, the GTL

“What a great favor God does to those He places in the company of good people!”
~~ Saint Teresa of Avila

Through the years I’ve done a lot of complaining about my team leader at work, henceforth (and usually) known as the ETL (aka Evil Team Leader). One of my spiritual teachers is of the opinion that we draw people into our life to teach us lessons. Well after eight years l have yet to figure out what it is. He’s the closest I’ve ever come to hating someone. I don’t even hate my ex, and he’s a man who’s certainly done me wrong.

But l don’t hate my ex and l don’t hate the ETL. Hate really does no good. As that before mentioned teacher likes to say, hating someone is like taking poison and expecting someone else to die. My ETL wouldn’t care if l hated him. In fact, it would probably make him happy.

But neither he, nor hatred, or even Divine lessons, are what l want to talk about.

I want to talk about a blessing in my life–Lisa, the Good Team Lead (henceforth known as the GTL).
Lisa is wonderful and if there is a shining example of Universal Balance, it is she. She is everything that the ETL is not.

Lisa and l hit it off immediately. We met when she was working overtime one Saturday years ago. She works early week (Sun, Mon, Tues, every other Wed) and l work late week (every other Wed, plus Thur, Fri, Sat).

Now Lisa is a reader (a plus right there), saw l was reading and asked me what it was.

It was The Secret by Xxx–a book about not being a victim and manifesting your good. She was very interested, asked to look at it, and consumed the thing before we went home that day.

From that day forward, whenever we worked together we coached each other on being positive. Whenever l was feeling particularly negative, if Lisa was around she reminded me of what l believe. She’d snap me out of it. I like to believe l did the same with her.

For a couple years there we had little to no overtime, so there was a long period where our paths rarely crossed.

But one of the truly awesome silver linings of the tons of mandatory overtime these last few months has been…Lisa! I’ve seen a lot of her!

Thank You God!

Lisa is funny, sweet, willing to listen, generous and so much more.

She made working all that overtime possible. She made me smile, even on the hardest days. She is a true blessing. And what a treat it was to see her come in yesterday–and to know I’ll be working with her today.

I can go in today with a smile. And that’s pretty awesome!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

4 thoughts on “Day 51 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Lisa, the GTL

  1. This could be completely off the mark, because I don’t know exactly why you feel this way, but I couldn’t help being reminded of an old parenting method called STEP (systematic training for effective parenting) when you talked about your vastly different reactions to these two individuals. ETL and GTL both seem to have the same work relationship with you – both team leaders – yet one is a blessing and the other a challenge. In STEP there are four goals for “misbehavior”. One of those is to have power. You know the person’s goal is power when your gut reaction is anger. Maybe your ETL feels powerless and finds it necessary to exert power to feel in control. Maybe, if you could see him as a fragile person inside, it could make it easier to withstand the things that make him hard to take. Or not.

    In any case, I’m happy you have GTL. Love her smile. ❤

    Like

    • I am so sorry that I missed this comment! It is wonderful and I want to know moer. And yes, I think that ETL feels…if not powerless, then threatened. I do feel that is why he “finds it necessary to exert power to feel in control.” I have gotten to the point where I feel sorry for him. Think that might be a good step. I know his behavior is a refection of some kind of abuse and he is turning around and doing it to us since he doesn’t have kids to do it to. So I can also be gratefut that I am an adult and can think this through where as some poor kid wouldn’t understand…. I will get there and I WANT to know more about STEP!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ask and you shall receive (maybe more than you want!)
        Brief Background
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Systematic_Training_for_Effective_Parenting
        The organization
        http://www.steppublishers.com/
        A Kit
        http://www.steppublishers.com/products/step-kit
        Parents’ Handbook
        http://www.amazon.com/The-Parents-Handbook-Systematic-Effective/dp/0979554209
        ***The Goals of Misbehavior (what I was talking about)
        http://tinyurl.com/4Goals-of-Misbehavior

        STEP, while a bit to take in to begin with, can make objective parenting choices possible. It provides the structure and resources parents need to analyze behaviors and decide on effective responses. You can purchase a handbook or other materials, but ideally, you learn this method of behavior management through a professional, whether in a clinical or a classroom setting. As to other adults, such as ETL, it may be possible to do a thing or two, but not with the same goals as a parent and not with the same efficacy. And maybe just understanding what’s going on underneath the surface can help with your own acceptance of the situation.
        I am definitely joining you in spirit. I have some job woes of my own involving supervisors. My response is pretty much to withdraw and interact as little as possible. I don’t know if that is the correct thing to do, but it feels safer.
        Finally, I wanted to recommend a sweet short story/novella to you. It made me think of you because it has 1920s architecture as part of the story line. It is “Raincheck” by Sarah Madison. It is a unique storyline. (I’m going to blog it.)
        As you say, Namaste. 🙂

        Like

  2. My response has links to web sites in it, so it has been flagged. I was also disappointed to see that it weirded out the spacing and added a preview window for Amazon. If you want to skip approving it, I can repost without the Amazon link. The others behaved nicely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

