Day 47 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Seizing Opportunity

OPPORTUNITY

“Trust yourself. Create the kind of self that you will be happy to live with all your life. Make the most of yourself by fanning the tiny, inner sparks of possibility into flames of achievement.”
~~ Golda Meir

Something is in the wind…. I want to say more but it is so inappropriate right now. But I know this, it’s going to be exciting.

It is all about opportunity, something that everyone has. We might have to look for them, but they’re there all the time. I’ve had some magick ones too!

I’ve been on the set of Star Trek; The Next Generation. I met Gene Roddenberry and got to sit around his office and watch daylies. I’ve been to Israel for Palm Sunday and Easter. I went to Egypt and I’ve been inside a pyramid. I’ve been to the top of the Empire State Building. I got to see Stephen King do a talk. I had dinner with Augusten Burroughs (author of Running with Scissors)!

But I couldn’t just sit at home, thinking it would all come to me. I had to put it out there. Let my dreams be known. And I had to take them when they came.

Mine opportunities right now has to do with the fulfillment of my biggest dreams; writing full-time.

One reason I’ve been so darned tired lately is that I am working so many hours I have little time to write. The house is a disaster (it looks like one of those homes you see in the news when a little old cat lady dies and there is barely room to walk through it) because I am writing when I am not sleeping and working (of course writing is working, but I love that job!).

But part of all this (the part I can talk about) is that I have a big enough backlog that I am having good quarter ends even when I don’t have a new book out! The most recent one so surprised my husband and I that he said that he thinks that me being able to write full time is a lot closer than we imagined.

“You never thought this was real, did you?” I asked.

His response? “I never discouraged you. I never stood in your way. I never tried to stop you.”

And that’s true. He even gave me the idea for one of my favorite Christmas stories, All Snug.

But now? Now he is backing me 150%. It’s very exciting. It’s also very exciting. The opportunity here!

And I realized something the other day. I preach “leap and the net will appear” all the time. So it is time for me to do just that. To step out in faith. To leap.

I’ve learned that opportunities present themselves all the time. Our job is to trust and take them. Who knows what magick is waiting for us?

I am so grateful for opportunities, and grab them whenever I can!

Namasté.
B.G. Thomas

Leave a Reply

