Day 40 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ Being There for Someone

a sun
“Cry – forgive – learn – move on. Let your tears water the seeds of your future happiness.
~~ Steve Maraboli”

Sometimes it’s just the being there.

It’s just knowing someone cares.

And that’s why it is some important to be the one that cares for someone else.

When a friend calls and they’re going through tough times…just being there for them.

And sometimes I’m convinced that part of why we go through the things we do, is so that we can be there and sympathize…no…empathize for someone else.

So when I hear a friend hurting, I make sure I stop everything to be there for them. And I hear their pain–a broken relationship, fights, losing jobs, losing a loved one….

And I’ve been through that. I’ve hurt bad.

I’ve had a husband who mentally and emotionally abused me–I took it for five years! And I finally walked away and now I have a man who treats me right. I made it.

I’ve fought with people I’ve loved. I can empathize if not know just what a friend is going through.

I’ve lost a job (more than one) that I loved or needed.

I have lost so many friends and loved ones. Heart attacks and cancer and strokes and suicide. I can’t count the gay friends who died in the early eighties to the AIDs crises.

So know this always. Nothing lasts. Pain does not last. Everything from a pulled tooth to a heart attack to replaced knees…? The pain ends. And we cross over to the other side. Ended relationships? We come through to the other side. Lose a job? Even when it takes a year to find a new one, and new job comes.

And sometimes it brings a whole lot of blessings.

And sometimes, just when a friend is hurting badly and I can put my arms around them (even online), I know my pain wasn’t for nothing. Especially when I can help a friend.

So today I am thankful for the tough times and the hurting times. It makes me ever so more grateful of the good times. And I know the next time I go through a bad time? I know it will be okay. As before, the pain will end, and I will come out on the other side.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

.

phot Sunrise by psarahtonen from morgueFile

Leave a Reply

