Day 33 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ TGIM

“This is the day that the Lord has made;
let us rejoice and be glad in it.”
~~ Psalm 118:24 (ESV)

Thank God it’s Monday.

It’s a whole new week! I wonder what’s in store for me? What surprises? What gifts? What changes?

I used to long for Friday. I lived for the weekends. But then I realized something. I was wishing my life away!

The Bible says in Genesis 6:3, “…My Spirit shall not abide in man forever, for he is flesh: his days shall be 120 years,” and in Psalm 90:10 that, “The days of our years are threescore years and ten.” Which means seventy. That second estimation means I am well over halfway there. Three quarters? I’m no good at math.

Googling says the average life expectancy is about 78.8 years.

So why was I wishing it was Friday? Why was I wishing days away? Wouldn’t I now wish for some of those days back?

I will admit that my work week starts on Wednesday–but still! I try very hard now not to wish that week away. It’s hard amidst all this overtime and being tired all the time. But I’m doing my best.

I don’t want to live for my trip to Florida in March.

I want to live for today. For this moment.

The Bible also says that, “This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

Doesn’t matter if one believes in the Bible (or a “Lord”) or not.

This is the day we have. I am going to rejoice and be glad in it.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

.

Picture generated by txt2pic.com

Leave a Reply

