Day 28 of 365 Days of Silver ~~ The Joys of a Long Hot Bath

Bath“There must be quite a few things that a hot bath won’t cure, but I don’t know many of them.”
~~ Sylvia Plath

I love long baths…

Oh I love to take a bath. I soak in the tub, and I read or watch movies on my laptop from Netflix. Sometimes I light a few candles and some incense, maybe put something in the water like oils or bath salts.

I’ll put some music on.

And it was while in the tub listening to music that a friend sent me that I discovered my theme, my moto.

It is a singer named Christine Kane….

And you dream and the way will be clear
Pray and the angels will hear
Leap and the net will appear…

I sat up. What? What was that?

I listened to the whole song, there by candle light…in the midst of writing my very, very first submission… And I hear these words….

A Midwest morning
October snowfall
She packed her Chevrolet
And she brushed the fear away
She’s got a great big dream and a history of playing small
And everybody seems to think she’ll be back before Christmas day
Well, she hit that highway with every ounce of faith she could summon
When courage finally comes
You never see it coming

And right outta nowhere
You open your heart and that changes everything
And you’re going somewhere
And all you need to know
Is that you’re free to go

And my life changed right there in the moment…in a hot tub…listening to those words.

And the part that most hit me was a Zen Buddhist saying….

(once more something spiritual!)

….leap and the net will appear!

If I am feeling bad there is nothing like a long, long bath. I am a water baby and that’s all there is to it.

When I go to camp I can spend hours and hours in the water….

It’s got to be something primeval, right? Something ancient? Returning to the waters from whence we came? Or some kind of return to the womb?

I love a good bath and I love water and it’s so nice to just be able to soak.

Hey! I wrote this in the tub….

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Lyrics by Christine Kane
Photograph by Dave Suntown

Leave a Reply

